We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Neve

Cafe Neve
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stopped in for dinner one evening. Most restaurants were closed as mains power was down, but they have a generator.

We had pasta and pizza the first night there, both were fantastic, and they did the best gluten free pizza base I've ever had. We went back for two pizzas the next night which were equally good, and breakfast, which was also excellent.

Service was very good, though on one quiet day some children were running in and out a bit which was slightly distracting, though not detracting.

If we went back to Fox Glacier we'd go out of our way to eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    120
    51
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“plastic with your meal?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I ordered a toastie sandwich and somehow a little piece of plastic ended up in my food, I was a bit shocked but didn't bother letting them know because I actually enjoyed the toasie (and I was so hungry I just wanted to finish my meal), it was a good size and was delicious, I left the bit of plastic on the side but am unsure if they ever picked up on it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great food! Little pricey although worth every cent!

Atmosphere is cosy and international staff are very friendly and prompt.

Will return!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick331979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe Neve-r again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food here is appalling. We ate breakfast at Cafe Neve. I had eggs and mushrooms on toast and the mushrooms were incinerated. They were so burnt that if you dropped on onto your plate it made a klink noise. The thick shakes are really good but there food will leave an unpliant taste in your mouth.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After receiving a recommendation from our hostel, we ordered a large pizza here for a late lunch. It ended up feeding 2 of us for 3 meals - lunch, dinner, and lunch the next day! Highly recommend the hippy (blue cheese and mushroom) and sitting on the deck!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Neve also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cafe Neve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing