We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean motel, best by far!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern, clean motel, best by far!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were very impressed by this motel, and it was in the top 2 out of 15 we stayed in on our NZ trip. It was very modern and big (we stayed in a 2 bed apt). We were right at the end looking out onto the lush grass. It was super clean and the shower area was large and clean with a great shower. The bedrooms were also large and is was such a lovely change from most of the older out of date motel rooms we had stayed in before. The owners were very helpful and would def stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
122
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This motel was very clean and spacious, check in was easy and the owner was lovely.

Would definatly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey07Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Good value for the price. Room was clean, had a kitchen too. No bathtub but a good sized shower. The owners were away but the people taking care of it for them were super friendly and very helpful. Free wireless internet and local calls. Everything in fox glacier is within walking distance, since it's a tiny little village.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontario_flutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Nice clean Motel. 1 Minute walk to the main highway. Staying overnight allows 2 chances at the Helicopter flights.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

great wet room showers with proper hot water pressure. plenty of space both inside and out the lodge. place was spotless, and exceptionally well maintained, unlike some other places along the west coast. Owner Kate couldnt have been more helpful.
many thanks

Rory, Eva and the kids

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghRoryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Based on the room, price and location, Rainforest is the best motel that we've stayed in, compared to our accomodations in Kaikoura, Christchurch, Hanmer Springs, Greymouth and Lake Tekapo.
Reception was friendly, although we showed up without a booking. A special price offered in a few-week-old email was also honoured. It was obviously a very quiet time for them too, being mid August. The room itself was very spacious, especially the bathroom- we were very impressed by how large it was. The shower pressure was very good, and there was a heater in the bathroom that timed out in 15 mins- which was enough time for us. This was the first place we came across with a door separating the bathroom from the living space (not just a sliding door), even if the door lock was broken while we were there.
Both the bathroom and kitchen were very modern, which was rare to find. We had no complaints at all about the kitchen- it had everything we needed. Finally, hot and cold water from the one tap so we can adjust the water temperature! No more of either freezing or burning your hands while doing the dishes. Well, there is one small issue- the kitchen floor is covered by linoleum, so it was constantly cold and moist (condensation due to the room heater being on?), which wasn't very pleasant every time we had to walk on it, which was very often as it led to the bathroom and out. Another issue we had was that the room heater is difficult to work out- it seems to be on a timer, with 180min being the max. Sure enough, it shut itself down on us a few times when we tested it out, but for some reason, it ran through the night eventhough we expected it time out... so good for us in the end, but we were worried about being frozen awake during the night.
Pluses are that there was a working alarm clock next to the bed, there's a nice view of mountains outside the room, and it's a very short walk to restaurants and the Fox Glacier hike meeting place. The laundry washer and dryer was $2 each (cheapest price we keep coming across) and the dryer actually worked quite well. Wireless internet is fixed at $10 for the whole day- we couldn't just buy a 1 hr block, for example, but right next door at the Fox Glacier Inn's lobby area, there's computer internet available at $1 for 10min, and $2 for 20 min (seems the standard rate).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We had a very nice stay in a 2 bedroom unit. The owner/manager was very helpful in arranging child care for our glacier walk. (She agreed to keep the baby and take him to playgroup with her children. I understand they are raising funds for a community child care program.) They brought over toys for the baby when we arrived. The location is within walking distance of everything. A nice basic facility with easy access.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Originalsweetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing