We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel in a convenient location”
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2007

The Rainforest Motel is conveniently located just off the main road at Fox Glacier Village. In contrast to many other places it lies within easy walking distance (<5 min) to the township with it its restaurants and other attractions.

We stayed in a large double bedroom unit which was spacious, clean and fully equipped with every you wanted. Check-In was very efficient, friendly and helpful with quite a few good tipps for getting around. The viewpoint for instance they recommended for the mountain views was not on the official map and a very good tipp indeed.

All in all we found the Rainforest Motel excellent value for money and like the other reviewers would highly recommend it !

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mtg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2006

The motel unit is spacious, homely and neat. The first impression is very good. The unit is equipped with clean kitchen utensils and cutlery; the bathroom is spacious, very clean and heated; bed and pillows are comfortable; the surrounding is serene; check-in and check-out are friendly, fast and efficient. A perfect place for longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gorgota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

This motel was one of the nicest motels on our stay. The room was very spacious with a very large full kitchen (even a mini stove and oven). The living room was large, with a sofa and coffee table and separate from the bedroom. The bedroom was very plain, however, with no TV. The TV was in the living room.
The bathroom was very large and the overall cleanliness was superb. The exterior is very nice, looks sort of like a log cabin. You park right in front of your own unit, which was nice for loading and unloading.
We only stayed one night but this place would be perfect for long stays since you have so much room, you wouldn't feel cramped at all. They say they have internet access but it's limited to dial-up only. We felt this was well worth the price at $146NZ ($97US) per night incl. tax. We would definitely stay here again!!
Their website is: ----------

5  Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mts69003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ug0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Chung G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 11 in Fox Glacier
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 11 in Fox Glacier
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $91 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing