We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The motel accommodation was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was family run and very friendly. We only stayed 1 night but would recommend for a longer stay. Good value for money with views to the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
122
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Well designed, stocked and maintained motel. Lovely family run spot that was perfect for our Fox Glacier experience. After driving from Chirstchurch, it was nice to park the car walk to dinner both nights. Decided to stay another night after we booked our Glacier tour and felt so comfortable. We highly recommend the Rainforest Motel.
P.S. I don't think there is a pool, I got carried away with my ratings!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had booked for one night, but when we checked in and the peace and serenity soothed me, we extended our stay to two nights. The unit was extremely spacious: the master bedroom was as large as some entire motel rooms can be. I appreciated the space, and restful colours in the decor. Our girls (10, 8 and 5) was totally delighted by the charming creek on the boundary of the complex, and they built dams and paddled. Fox charmed me with its gentle heart, and we had possibly the most memorable family walk ever round Lake Matheson. Bliss in so many ways!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the motel. The apartment was quite modern and spacious and well appointed. Had a lot of trouble accessing the free Wi Fi. Easy walking distance to the township and eating establishments. Great views as it snowed on tne mountains the previous night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful spot and can't recommend the motel and its owners highly enough

especially for families with small children this is the place to stay at when visiting Fox Glacier

a big thank you to the owners for their personal touch

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Comfortable and spacious studio conveniently just off the main village centre. Nice upmarket kitchen and en-suite shower room.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a huge unit with two bedrooms

It was clean and close to town of Fox you don't need to drive to local restaurants

We ate at the Sadle cook and it was really nice and great value

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing