We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover near the glacier”
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Stopover near the glacier”
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the motel. The apartment was quite modern and spacious and well appointed. Had a lot of trouble accessing the free Wi Fi. Easy walking distance to the township and eating establishments. Great views as it snowed on tne mountains the previous night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    116
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
129
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful spot and can't recommend the motel and its owners highly enough

especially for families with small children this is the place to stay at when visiting Fox Glacier

a big thank you to the owners for their personal touch

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Comfortable and spacious studio conveniently just off the main village centre. Nice upmarket kitchen and en-suite shower room.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a huge unit with two bedrooms

It was clean and close to town of Fox you don't need to drive to local restaurants

We ate at the Sadle cook and it was really nice and great value

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way from Hanmer Springs to Wanaka.
It was easy to find in a convenient central location.It was a very hot day when we arrived but the windows were all open to air the place.
It was an end unit with windows on three side of the living area so we had lovely views all round of the rain forest mountains,so near that you felt you could almost touch them.
This is a good well thought out motel.We had a clean,good size bathroom with sufficient lighting and table lamps each side of the bed.Some places have inadequate bedroom lighting making it difficult to read in bed.
My husband made good use of the free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummygaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Rainforest is fine.

It's not brand new and it's not flash, the bed isn't huge, the chairs aren't especially comfortable and you her the basics of a motel and nothing more.

It is superbly located a short (like 2 minute) walk from where everything in Fox happens however, and we saw dozens of people schlep past on their way to their more distant accommodation while we enjoyed a cold one in our room.

My main criticism is that it's about as bad as it gets for the 'motel zoo' effect as each room has a full glass wall facing the car park. At least there are net curtains.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Rainforest Motel was very adequate, and a good value. Very close to the main street in Fox Glacier, and the room had all of the conveniences you would look for. In our unit, the bed was showing its age (you kind of rolled to the middle), but the electric bedwarmer was great on a cooler evening. No problems, but not a really phenomenal place either.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the building with the washing machines, which is also the hotel laundry, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank econsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing