We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neither good, nor bad.”
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Emerson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Neither good, nor bad.”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

During our whirlwind tour of New Zealand (7 nights, 7 different motels) we needed a place to stay in Fox Glacier so that we could do a glacier walk in the morning. Many of the options looked pretty similar ahead of time so we went with the Rainforest Motel. The rates were the best we had in all of New Zealand so we couldn't really complain about that. We arrived just around 8 PM so I think we were a little on the late side for the hosts. He was pretty friendly and gave us a recommendation for dinner, but just wasn't as enthusiastic as some of the other hosts we had in our travels. The room was pretty nice with a small kitchen type area and a nice sitting area. Electric blanket was a nice amenity for a chilly September night. There were a few spiders and bugs in the room when we got there, but no big deal. I wouldn't necessarily tell anyone to stay away from this location, but I wouldn't highly recommend it either. It was just average.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    113
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
126
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

A very good value for money Motel. Great location easy 5 minute walk to the main street of Fox. Very quiet location, although the local volunteer Fire Station is next door and the emergency call out siren is very loud and can go off at any time.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that perfectly suited our needs. Very clean and well maintianed. Very nice gardens and lawns to relax in and soak up the amazing views.
The owner can seem a little short initially but is full of helpful information on what to do and where to go in Fox.
FREE internet!!! Every other accomodation provider needs to follow this lead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a no-frills sort of place, but it had everything that we needed and plenty of room and it was clean and close to the helihike that we'd planned. It worked out perfectly! We'd stay there again. Definitely suggest eating at the bistro on Lake Matheson and taking the walk around the lake.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rainforest Motel.

It has more of a "motor lodge" feel, than the garden look in the promotional pictures. But the backdrop of mountains is still beautiful.

Our two bedroom apartment was spacious with great soundproofing - the best night's sleep I have had with our one year old for a long, long time! A comfy portacot was provided as well as some much needed toys. The rooms were also neat as a pin.

The windows were all open when we arrived - which made it freezing inside (but with nice fresh air). However, with the heater running and the electric blankets we could warm it up quite quickly.

For such a family friendly place, it would be great to have a bath rather than just a shower. But we got by just fine.

And definitely go to the Lake Matheson Cafe while you are in town - an absolute must do for lunch or breakfast. One of the few places we got to have a meal in peace, while the toddler played with the big box of toys and ran around in the open air.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights in July 2011. Had a 2 bedroom suite, which we needed with 2 teenage girls. Very clean and spacious. Wonderful views of the mountains. I would recommend this motel as a great place to stay while at the glaciers. Free internet also a bonus, and not offeredin many hotels in NZ>

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazandy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hosts Andy & Kate were very friendly, offering advice on hikes in the area. We reserved a one-bedroom unit (#5), which is a corner unit with lots of windows, garden & mountain views. The unit was spacious and immaculate. Large kitchen and bathroom. Living room had TV, sofa, and table & chairs. Separate bedroom with queen bed, electric bed pad, extra blankets & pillows. There is parking right outside each unit and convenient, inexpensive laundry facilities on premises. AND – FREE Internet!

There’s not much to the quaint town of Fox Glacier – a few small cafes and a store, all within walking distance from the motel. Andy will even lend you an umbrella if it’s raining. The hikes in the area are beautiful!. Ask Andy for details; he’ll tell you the best ones!

Room Tip: Book through their website or email them directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii-Cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

A drive of about 4 hours took us from Wanaka to Fox Glacier and the Rainforest Motel. I had chosen this because it was in a quiet location and also because of good Trip Advisor reviews; sadly this time we were disappointed.

At first glance the place was well kept with beautiful grounds and also in a pleasant location. Our studio was one of the first block (closest to the road) and on later wandering around the site we felt that any other situation within Rainforest would have been preferable. The studios are not very private and the windows could do with having net curtains, however, this did mean that we could take a glancing look at the furnishings of most of them and we saw that our studio block was the only one that did not have comfortable armchair or sofa style seating, so maybe other things about those studios was also better.

Our studio was very basic, the curtains were coming off the runners, there was only one bedside table and lamp, and the shade on this lamp was broken and falling off its wires. As previously mentioned there was no privacy when inside the studio so we had to close the curtains for much of the time. Also when we were there the days were gloriously warm but the nights were cold and this meant that the large windows were completely covered with condensation in the morning; so the addition of double glazing would be a huge bonus.

Like many similar establishments a good continental breakfast was brought to the room, either morning or evening.

However, our stay here was not all bad! We had 2 nights and slept well. We also enjoyed the area greatly and visited both the glacier and Lake Matteson and also found our way down a long dirt road to Gillespie Beach. For me this was probably the highlight of the Fox Glacier stay! The beach is wild, remote and full of dead driftwood trees, there is also the remains of a gold mine dredge and an evocative gold miners graveyard.

Both nights we ate at the Lake Matteson Cafe; the food was excellent and the views superb.

I really hate to give a bad review because the owners were so friendly but hopefully they will read this and think about doing some updating of the studios.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing