We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
119
129
33
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
129
33
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mathesonapartment was cleanfree wifione bedroom unitthe main roadfew minutes walktwo nightsliving areaelectric blanketssky tvfranz josefnew zealandfully equipped kitchenpleasant staystayed for one nightself cateringgeneral store
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 295 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hosts Andy & Kate were very friendly, offering advice on hikes in the area. We reserved a one-bedroom unit (#5), which is a corner unit with lots of windows, garden & mountain views. The unit was spacious and immaculate. Large kitchen and bathroom. Living room had TV, sofa, and table & chairs. Separate bedroom with queen bed, electric bed pad, extra blankets & pillows. There is parking right outside each unit and convenient, inexpensive laundry facilities on premises. AND – FREE Internet!

There’s not much to the quaint town of Fox Glacier – a few small cafes and a store, all within walking distance from the motel. Andy will even lend you an umbrella if it’s raining. The hikes in the area are beautiful!. Ask Andy for details; he’ll tell you the best ones!

Room Tip: Book through their website or email them directly
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaii-Cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

A drive of about 4 hours took us from Wanaka to Fox Glacier and the Rainforest Motel. I had chosen this because it was in a quiet location and also because of good Trip Advisor reviews; sadly this time we were disappointed.

At first glance the place was well kept with beautiful grounds and also in a pleasant location. Our studio was one of the first block (closest to the road) and on later wandering around the site we felt that any other situation within Rainforest would have been preferable. The studios are not very private and the windows could do with having net curtains, however, this did mean that we could take a glancing look at the furnishings of most of them and we saw that our studio block was the only one that did not have comfortable armchair or sofa style seating, so maybe other things about those studios was also better.

Our studio was very basic, the curtains were coming off the runners, there was only one bedside table and lamp, and the shade on this lamp was broken and falling off its wires. As previously mentioned there was no privacy when inside the studio so we had to close the curtains for much of the time. Also when we were there the days were gloriously warm but the nights were cold and this meant that the large windows were completely covered with condensation in the morning; so the addition of double glazing would be a huge bonus.

Like many similar establishments a good continental breakfast was brought to the room, either morning or evening.

However, our stay here was not all bad! We had 2 nights and slept well. We also enjoyed the area greatly and visited both the glacier and Lake Matteson and also found our way down a long dirt road to Gillespie Beach. For me this was probably the highlight of the Fox Glacier stay! The beach is wild, remote and full of dead driftwood trees, there is also the remains of a gold mine dredge and an evocative gold miners graveyard.

Both nights we ate at the Lake Matteson Cafe; the food was excellent and the views superb.

I really hate to give a bad review because the owners were so friendly but hopefully they will read this and think about doing some updating of the studios.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Our stay and experience at the Rainforest Motel was not as good as some of the positive reviews. The room is dated and tired looking. The toilet had this bad and musty smell which I hated. However, it is near the main roads so walking to the shops and restaurant was a breeze. Parking space was ample and there is even a car washing bay provided which was useful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Rooms are spacious, however, sparcly equipped, especially in the kitchen - dirty oven with only one element working and just two knives, two forks etc. It is looking very tired. Good shower and spacious bathroom. We arrived early evening and received a friendly welcome. I suspect this motel is a casualty of being able to charge a high price for what the town has to offer in comparison to other tourist areas of NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WopWops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We arrived at the Motel after being caught in the Christchurch earthquake and it provided a peaceful, comfortable place to recuperate from the experience. The owners could not have been more kind or helpful, digging out some spare clothes and a bag for us. The room was comfy, clean and modern with a new TV and well equipped kitchen - very spacious too. Fantastic, good value accomodation in a beautiful setting with lovely helpful owners. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews