We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious new motel rooms”
Review of Rainforest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainforest Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious new motel rooms”
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Simple but spacious rooms with view of the mountains (when its not raining!) The owners are very friendly and helpful. The motel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the small town where the organised glacier walks start.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chromes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    116
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
130
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed in Fox on my wife's birthday. I had emailed ahead and organised some bubbly in the room, this was exactly as requested, and the owners put no mark up on the supermarket price, can't say fairer than that!.

Apartment was clean, reasonable size, and with sufficient facilities to cater for yourself if needed.

They are convieniently located about five minutes walk from the main street with all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rainbowwindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

4 adults stayed in a 2 bed room in this motel in March. The room was fairly spacious, clean and comfortable. However the bath room had inadequate ventilation and the whole apartment became very steamy after 4 showers. Luckily the weather was good whilst we stayed so we could leave the sliding front doors open to allow the steam to escape, but during the winter it could be a problem. The bathroom otherwise was very well equipped. The electric heater in the living room was on a timer. It was within very easy walking distance of the resort and restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ermicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

The Rainforest Motel is conveniently located just off the main road at Fox Glacier Village. In contrast to many other places it lies within easy walking distance (<5 min) to the township with it its restaurants and other attractions.

We stayed in a large double bedroom unit which was spacious, clean and fully equipped with every you wanted. Check-In was very efficient, friendly and helpful with quite a few good tipps for getting around. The viewpoint for instance they recommended for the mountain views was not on the official map and a very good tipp indeed.

All in all we found the Rainforest Motel excellent value for money and like the other reviewers would highly recommend it !

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mtg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

The motel unit is spacious, homely and neat. The first impression is very good. The unit is equipped with clean kitchen utensils and cutlery; the bathroom is spacious, very clean and heated; bed and pillows are comfortable; the surrounding is serene; check-in and check-out are friendly, fast and efficient. A perfect place for longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorgota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

This motel was one of the nicest motels on our stay. The room was very spacious with a very large full kitchen (even a mini stove and oven). The living room was large, with a sofa and coffee table and separate from the bedroom. The bedroom was very plain, however, with no TV. The TV was in the living room.
The bathroom was very large and the overall cleanliness was superb. The exterior is very nice, looks sort of like a log cabin. You park right in front of your own unit, which was nice for loading and unloading.
We only stayed one night but this place would be perfect for long stays since you have so much room, you wouldn't feel cramped at all. They say they have internet access but it's limited to dial-up only. We felt this was well worth the price at $146NZ ($97US) per night incl. tax. We would definitely stay here again!!
Their website is: ----------

Helpful?
5 Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Motel

Property: Rainforest Motel
Address: 15 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rainforest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Motel Fox Glacier
Rainforest Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing