We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class hotel”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at High Peaks Hotel for 3 nights and found it to be a delightful place to stay. The rooms are spacious , well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff were cheerfull and helpfull. We dined in the restaurant each night and found the food to be world class. In fact we have dined at many of the top restaurants around the world and found the food at High Peaks to be as good as any we have eaten. A lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

A good hotel to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of 'town'. We ate at the restaurent which was okay, not bad but not great either (as the promo said it would be). I would probarly stay here again as it is a little out of town and is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Found this little "gem" of a motel at the base of the Fox Glacier. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The rooms were clean cosy and warm and very nicely decorated. The laundry room had all new machines which was very useful as we had been on the road for several weeks . Had an excellent meal at the motel restaurant with great views of Mount Cook. Would definately recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is your run of the mill, stop over during a long drive type motel. Australians can liken this to the Golden Chain and Best Western types. The room was comfortable and clean. We were not able to get breakfast as the resturant was closed, however the lady said it was reopening in October. The ladies at the desk were very helpful in recommending a resturant for dinner. We went to Plateau for dinner and it was very nice. Besides the glaciers we did not notice much else to do which was why we only stayed the one night and we found it very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

After my first choice hotel was fully booked, they referred me to the High Peaks Motor Lodge. Prices were average for the area, in general horrendously overpriced compared to the rest of the South Island.
The motel itself was spotless but lacked warmth and character. I had booked the 'honeymoon suite' but this was basically a big room with a jacuzzi bath. It seemed like the room was brand new but they made a mistake painting the walls grey.... The Motel is in an ok location, about a 10 minute walk into the main street of Fox and the reception staff were very helpful.
Overall an average experience but compared to some of the other fantastic places we stayed in the South Island, it doesn't get a glowing review from me.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank highlander1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
376 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,479 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#11 of 11 in Fox Glacier
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $116 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing