We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat and tidy unit away from all the road traffic...”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very neat and tidy unit away from all the road traffic...”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight here during our drive down the west coast, and we were quite pleased. The room, unit 14, was spotless. It was near the end of the hall away from the road, but this part of Fox is the quietest, about a mile from Highway 6, with little traffic on Cook Flats road, so no problem with noise. The wifi Internet, always a must for me and my iPad, was speedy and reliable, contrary to prior reviews. They give 300 mb free, but I didn't run out. The onsite restaurant was of high quality, though not inexpensive (New Zealand food is pricey). My venison stew was tasty, and the chef who prepared it was the same woman who checked us in. High Peaks is a charming little establishment in the right part of this area. I also appreciate having an interior corridor for lugging luggage down a hall during a rainy day. We stayed dry.

Room Tip: Stay here to dine, but be willing to pay for some very good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
128
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room, restaurant and facilities were spotlessly clean. Alan and Marlene were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - giving advice on local sightseeing spots and helping to plan our activities during our 2 night stay. Dinner and breakfast in the restaraunt was cooked to order and delicious. Laundry facilities were excellent and very well priced. A real family run hotel where you are a guest not a room number! A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room(16) overlooking fields with Hereford cattle. There was also a spa bath which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have nothing bad to say about this place; rooms were clean, owners friendly and everything worked well. I will say however that i think for what you get its a little pricey. Location was a little out of town and whilst the view was quiet pleasant it was not worth the 175 per night price tag.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The owners are locals, real Kiwis and so really friendly and helpful. Our waitress (sorry forgot her name) was brilliant and talked to us about all sorts of local issues, information, etc. The accommodation was great with all the necessary facilities and the evening meals cooked by Marlene (one of the owners) were really very good and excellent value.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: our room had mountain views - not sure whether all do or do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Although it's not in the centre of Fox , it is walkable . A lovely place Bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean , breakfast was good and staff very friendly and welcoming . Thank you so much for arranging our trip to the glacier , it was such a perfect day and a memory we will cherish for always . I would definitely recommend this place

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aristo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A very clean hotel

Friendly people who run it

Food was very good in the on sight restaurant..had dinner and breakfast there

Nice and quiet for sleeping...a rural setting

Good view of Mt Cooke and Mt Tasman

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom15betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in Jan, 2014. The hotel is ~1 km away from the city centre and is a single storied hotel. The hotel seemed deserted on the first day when we checked in but we could see some people around on the second day. It was a bit gloomy.
Plus points - decent facilities, spacious and clean rooms and quite a warm host.
My suggestion would be to either stay at the hearland hotel in Fox or stay in Franz, which is another glacier town ~20 kms away from Fox but is slightly bigger in terms of hotel options/restaurants than Fox. But Fox Glacier is bigger than the Franz Joseph Glacier - so take your pick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagandeep_tiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi. Just a couple of points I would like to make. Firstly I note that a few of our recent reviews have obviously been influenced by the weather. I must agree that overcast rainy conditions can be a bit gloomy but you must accept that this is the West Coast, we are surrounded by rain forest and if it wasn't for the rain the place would not be what it is. We have a web cam which updates every 10 minutes of every day so we do not try to mislead about our weather However, when its fine and the Alps are clear, as at the moment, this property is a magical place to be.
Secondly, with regard to our location, all our advertising including our web site clearly indicates that we are 1.5 kms from the town centre, down Cook Flat Road far enough to get the magnificent views that we enjoy. These views cannot be seen in the township. We also emphasise that this is a very quiet rural location. We have no immediate neighbours but are surrounded by farmland sprinkled with native trees. So I agree with you that if hustle and bustle and bright lights and noise is your scene, High Peaks is not for you. But if peace and quiet and a sound nights sleep is your thing then we are definitely worth a look.

Cheers
Alan Chant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Property: High Peaks Hotel
Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing