We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service.”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful service.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Room is very clean and spacious, we are so amazed by the brand new facilities in the bathroom. Good location from Fox town as well as Lake Metheson. And it was so dark and quite at night, it's very good for star gazing at the backyard.

Service of hostess Marlene was superb. We arrived at a time when Haast highway is closed, and we planned to go though this section of highway the next morning. Marlene kept us informed of the latest information ever since we arrived. By around 9am the next morning, Marlene got the news the highway will open at noon and suggested us to go there as quick as possible, to avoid any possible road closure again (and it DID close again the next day!!! Those affected had to route through Arthur pass, Christchurch, Lake Tekapo, Queenstown to Wanaka, a whopping 800km!). We safely passed the affected area and arrived in Wanaka in the afternoon as planned. I was so pleased that I rung up Marlene to show our deepest thanks for the assistance she provided, which makes a pleasant memory for our visit of glacier town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiuZhanzhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
128
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was exactly what we needed. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location. The staff was friendly and we had a very nice breakfast.

What stood out most though was the service provided by Marlene Chant.

We checked in, told Marlene about our plans of a helicopter ride up to Fox Glacier and we were on our way. We checked in at the helicopter office and they told us that no flights were going because of bad weather. We were told to check back in an hour. We went back but still no luck. When we arrived back at the hotel we happened to see Marlene and we told her we weren't able to take the helicopter ride.

Little did we know that Marlene then kept in constant contact with the helicopter office to check on availability of flights for us. Towards the end of the day Marlene called us in our room and told us to get ready and that the helicopter office was sending a car to pick us up. We were treated to a once in a lifetime experience and witnessed a beautiful sunset while on Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrekker949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Beautiful location, good sized clean room, friendly staff from the owners to the restaurant staff and chef, free parking.

Ideal location for the tourist attractions, we had the helicopter trip and although fantastic views it was on the expensive side.

We had an evening meal cooked by the French Chef which was excellent , from the quality of produce to presentation.

If we ever found ourselves in this part of New Zealand again we would definitely stay here again, not the cheapest but by far one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were pretty tired after driving to Fox Glacier from Wanaka. High Peaks is off the main highway, but worth the extra few blocks. It is very peaceful, with spacious, clean, and quiet rooms. The hostess was extremely helpful about filling our needs (like ice for our "chilly bin"). She also had great advice about weather conditions at the glacier and other nearby attractions.
High Peaks proved a very welcoming rest stop for the weary travelers on the road. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We selected this destination based on positive reviews here and their 'promised' amazing views. I must say that we were unfortunately rather disappointed with the views. Quite some distance from the Glacier. Despite emailing in advance about a room with a view - our view was of the neighbours driveway and undercover parking. Although we didn't eat there I believe the restaurant would have a 'nice' view but certainly not one that matches all the reviews.

View aside, the room itself was clean and served the purpose. The bed was comfortable. The hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkemiPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This must be one of the best location from which to see Mount Cook in the morning. The motel is sufficiently outside of Fox Glacier town that it is very peaceful but is still with a couple of minutes drive. Marlene and Alan are perfect hosts and are a wealth of knowledge on the local area. The motel is very well designed and the rooms are spacious.

Wifi - free and fairly fast
Cell phone signal is fine
Parking directly outside of motel unit
Large bedroom / sitting area ... very comfortable
Large bathroom with shower / no bath
Small kitchen unit
Modern newish and well designed
Great hosts
Milk in small cartons - not fresh milk
There is a restaurant on site but is only open to guests on request ... Marlene does a great wild venison hotpot and will provide a good breakfast on request
Small cooler - no freezer compartment - hosts will cool / freeze larger items for you

Room Tip: Some look out towards Mt Cook but the best views are from the deck near the restaurant. Our party ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here one night and found the room to be quite nice. Comfortable bed, clean room and a great shower. Woke up refreshed and ready for our glacier hike! Our host was very pleasant. We did do breakfast at the restaurant but went into town for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Property: High Peaks Hotel
Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing