We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Peaks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$72
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
$87
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
80
64
30
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
64
30
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mathesonpeak hotelspa bathtubsmall fridgeviews of the mountainsquiet roadon site restauranthotel motellovely hotela couple of minutesguest laundrystayed here for nightscomfortable bedovernight staythe main roadnew zealandfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here one night and found the room to be quite nice. Comfortable bed, clean room and a great shower. Woke up refreshed and ready for our glacier hike! Our host was very pleasant. We did do breakfast at the restaurant but went into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A motel, with parking right outside the door of your individual 'motel room', it is quite new, modern and clean as a whistle. The hosts, Marlene and Alan, are friendly and helpful. The integral bar-restaurant is modest but provides a good breakfast and a surprisingly good dinner. We had a group function there, with drinks before and dinner afterwards, and they did an excellent job. Little 'atmosphere' or 'character', but a perfectly adequate overnight stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are 'inside', along a hallway, others are motel-style with cars right outside the door, so perhaps a little noisier. All are equally excellent in terms of facilities and cleanliness. Your choice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parksims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large rooms with very comfortable beds. A fridge in the studio would be nice but the owners make fridge space available when needed. Marverlous shower. All facilities superbly clean. Pretty good restuarant, with a french chef running the kitchen. Good bar/lounge. Extremely friendly owners are very helpful with advice for local visits. Marvelous views on the mountain range behind the hotel. Close by picture-perfect Lake Matheson (go early !).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Studio room with a king size bed. All quite new and clean but not felt that it was too expensive for what you get.
No fridge - just a cooler. Rear projection small TV that is too high on the wall. Basic bathroom. Very plain inside the room with basic furniture and nothing much on the walls - very boring. Access was through reception so everything had to go throuigh that way from the car - luckily we were one of only a few staying that night. It has a restaurant and bar but it wasn't open to just have a casual drink. The owner said she would cook us dinner from the menu but it wasn't worth opening the restaurant. Its about 1.5 kms from town as well - no big deal but just a bit further than ideal if you wanted to walk to town for a meal 9especially with the restaurant closed).

Nothing really wrong with the place but at $175.00 a night I was expecting better quality everthing.

Kevin and Wendy Bryant
Wellington NZ.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that you can park your car outside of - makes it easier getting stuff into your room - it looked like there was a couple.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Because tourism in the the Glacier region is very seasonal, rates need to be at the higher end of the scale to make our businesses viable. The rates at High Peaks are very competitve compared to similar accommodation in the area.
I must disagree with your comment that the furniture is basic. I built the place and only top quality fittings etc were used.
I did observe the amount of alcohol and food that you had with you so I can with some certainty presume that you have not done your homework and found that High Peaks was not the type of accommodation you required. Hence your disappointment.
Our restaurant is available every evening for our own guests. The only request we make is that you give us a little notice so we can be prepared.The bar was open from 5.30 till at least 11 pm for anyone to enjoy a drink. ( I am the barman )
We are sorry you were disappointed but there are horses for courses and the great majority of our guests are very happy.
Alan Chant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found the High Peaks Hotel a very enjoyable place to stay. It is a short drive to town or to Lake Matheson. The location makes it a very quiet place to stay. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and are larger than you normally find. The views of the mountains from the motel are neat. The owners were very friendly and helpful in answering any questions I had. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews