We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large rooms with very comfortable beds. A fridge in the studio would be nice but the owners make fridge space available when needed. Marverlous shower. All facilities superbly clean. Pretty good restuarant, with a french chef running the kitchen. Good bar/lounge. Extremely friendly owners are very helpful with advice for local visits. Marvelous views on the mountain range behind the hotel. Close by picture-perfect Lake Matheson (go early !).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Studio room with a king size bed. All quite new and clean but not felt that it was too expensive for what you get.
No fridge - just a cooler. Rear projection small TV that is too high on the wall. Basic bathroom. Very plain inside the room with basic furniture and nothing much on the walls - very boring. Access was through reception so everything had to go throuigh that way from the car - luckily we were one of only a few staying that night. It has a restaurant and bar but it wasn't open to just have a casual drink. The owner said she would cook us dinner from the menu but it wasn't worth opening the restaurant. Its about 1.5 kms from town as well - no big deal but just a bit further than ideal if you wanted to walk to town for a meal 9especially with the restaurant closed).

Nothing really wrong with the place but at $175.00 a night I was expecting better quality everthing.

Kevin and Wendy Bryant
Wellington NZ.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that you can park your car outside of - makes it easier getting stuff into your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Because tourism in the the Glacier region is very seasonal, rates need to be at the higher end of the scale to make our businesses viable. The rates at High Peaks are very competitve compared to similar accommodation in the area.
I must disagree with your comment that the furniture is basic. I built the place and only top quality fittings etc were used.
I did observe the amount of alcohol and food that you had with you so I can with some certainty presume that you have not done your homework and found that High Peaks was not the type of accommodation you required. Hence your disappointment.
Our restaurant is available every evening for our own guests. The only request we make is that you give us a little notice so we can be prepared.The bar was open from 5.30 till at least 11 pm for anyone to enjoy a drink. ( I am the barman )
We are sorry you were disappointed but there are horses for courses and the great majority of our guests are very happy.
Alan Chant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found the High Peaks Hotel a very enjoyable place to stay. It is a short drive to town or to Lake Matheson. The location makes it a very quiet place to stay. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and are larger than you normally find. The views of the mountains from the motel are neat. The owners were very friendly and helpful in answering any questions I had. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

High Peaks is what Americans call a motel... you drive in (in this case to a gravel parking lot) and park right outside your room. So, as long as you're expecting a motel, your expectations will be met: the owners are on-site, they are very nice, they maintain the motel beautifully, and they provide (for an additional charge) a simple-- and perfectly fine-- breakfast.

We were on bicycles so its location about 1.3 kms outside of town was a bit of a disappointment but that's okay, we walked into town and had a terrific dinner at a cafe, I think it's called Cafe Neve, where the pizza is excellent and the service is terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights. The hotel ( not a motel even though at first glance it looks like a motel ) is just on the edge of town. The room was spacious and bathroom was fine, but nothing special. The restaurant is good and for us much better than the rather busy and not very smart places in town. Breakfast was OK but the beans in the fry up had been under a heater for some time. The car park is rather bare and does not help your first impressions. Overall we enjoyed our stay and guess it is one of the best places in town

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you're looking for basic, functional accommodation in Fox Glacier then the High Peaks hotel should be what you need. It's not the most obviously attractive of hotels (it still looks more like the motel that it used to be) but the rooms are large and clean, with a nice bathroom, and there is a small launderette on the premises. The location is good too: less than a kilometre from the centre of Fox Glacier and a short drive from beautiful Lake Mathieson.

Our only gripe was that we we were a little disappointed with the quality of our meal in the restaurant (we had arrived fairly late on a very wet evening and had decided to dine in). The restaurant staff were, however, charming, as was the very hepful lady at reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was late in the afternoon when we were looking for a single nights accommodation, and being a bit away from the main road but on the way to Lake Matheson, we chose to check the availability here. A wonderfully warm welcome, and a clean and cosy room with all you need for a night, though a fridge would have been handy.

Our host rang us towards sunset to let us know the clouds had lifted and Mount Cook was glowing with the setting sun. How thoughtful..!!! We enjoyed the moment with her on the front lawn . . . . . another special moment from our stay in NZ :)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $110 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing