We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would recommend it during the summer months”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would recommend it during the summer months”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in this hotel. The owner is a very nice and helpful lady. Our king suite with ensuite was clean and spacious. A little dark maybe. No special view. I think the restaurant has the best view of the mountains. It is overpriced like every hotel and motel in Fox Glacier and Franz Josef. We had booked a all-day trip to Fox Glacier and I highly recommend it. Check out the breathtaking Gillespie beach (no sandflies during the cold months). Breakfast was not included. The owner makes a very good breakfast if you want to, but again, it is overpriced. I would try the Matheson Cafe'. Internet was included. During the summer I would probably highly recommend it as the the hotel restaurant has an outdoor patio and a gorgeous view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
338 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My group stayed here for 2 nights while touring the area around Fox Glacier - went on may great hikes, including up to the face of the glacier. The hotel is ideally suited for anything one wishes to do. breakfast is excellent and they also serve dinner as well, but there are better options nearby. The rooms were fine and it must be the best place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the time we left Marlene (the owner) was wonderful and so very helpfull with a great sense of humour. The hotel its self was very comfy and the rooms were very large a clean. The views of the mountains from the resturant window is breath taking. We just wished we had booked another night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathewmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I really liked this motel. Very comfortable king sized bed and the owners really are lovely. Great views of the mountains and close to town. Would definitely come back here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just out of town, this family run hotel was an absolute delight. The owners were friendly and helpful, bending over backwards for you, and the rooms were modern, clean, comfortable, warm and spacious. I would definitely stay here if I came back to Fox Glacier!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Kedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the great location and excellent quality of this hotel. Marlene and Alan, the owners were wonderful hosts. The rooms are super clean and spacious. The entire property was very well kept. Nice views of the mountains from the hotel. The restaurant was closed at the time we were there but they always called us the night before to ask if we wanted to have breakfast. Breakfast was superb. We loved this place. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davistown, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I found this Hotel to be of a high standard. The rooms were very clean and well maintained,wifi a bonus,very friendly staff and the view from the dining room stunning. Not far from town and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjp4941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Property: High Peaks Hotel
Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing