We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We did a lot of research prior to visiting NZ, including places to stay. We selected High Peaks Hotel and were not disappointed. Extremely clean room and very quiet. Mariane and her husband typify the wonderful Kiwi hospitality and they run a first class place, especially at this price point. The poor reviews were obviously from people that will never be satisfied with anything. Thanks Mariane

Room Tip: The High Peaks Hotel is about a kilometer away from town on a lightly traveled road. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 173 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

Travelled the south-island and this was the cleanest and quietest room we had. The dinner Marlene cooked was out of this world. What a Chef. Alan was great company at the Bar.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Immaculate, large room. V. comfortable large bed. desk & 3 comfortable chairs. large beautiful bathroom. V. near to fox's glacier and lake mathieson. Only criticism would be that room was a little dark -but this was due to the roof over the terrace outside the window -however we were very grateful for this roof as it meant we could unload the car without getting wet even though it was pouring with rain. Ate in restaurant and food was superb and good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a nice little hotel near Fox glacier and Lake Matheson. However it feels much more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The owners are extremely friendly. The rooms are very clean and appear to have been recently updated. The owners also cook a nice breakfast and dinner (although we were only there long enough to catch the breakfast).

I would recommend this to anyone who is simply looking for a nice, clean place to stay with a very accommodating staff.

The televisions didn’t get many channels, which may be a concern for some people, but I didn’t really care because I wasn’t there to watch TV. I was there to get a good night sleep so that I could get up early and explore Lake Matheson, and take in the surrounding beauty of the area. This hotel is not party central. It’s simply a nice clean place run by some really friendly people.

Also, there was free, unlimited wifi, which my friends and I really enjoyed. It was nice because we could all check in with the girlfriends and wives (via Skype or FaceTime), check our email, Facebook, Linked In, and etc. Most of the other places only gave us 20 or 30 minutes once we figured out how to log in (often while sitting in the lobby). This was a refreshing change.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This motel is about 2km out of the town but worth the visit. Very clean, bed was decent, had a good sleep. The owner Marlene was very informative and helpful. Will recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed for one night on 5th Jan 2012 on our way down the west coast - selected and booked on the net and wasn't disappointed - Marlene & Alan were the perfect hosts - seems they have invested in extending the hotel and have gone for quality - the rooms were superbly appointed - the bathrooms first class with power showers - carpets & general decor were all of excellent quality. Best of all was the restaurant - Marlene informed us that she had stepped back from the kitchen and with the expansion they had appointed a full time chef - & he's good - I'm fussy and like quality food - sometimes paying more than my wife thinks reasonable for food - the menu here is quite limited with four or five main course options - each one prepared and delivered to a very high standard which I think is much better than doing a wide range of pre-packed rubbish - I had probably one of the best steaks I have ever eaten - cooked to perfection as I ordered it - seriously as good as Michelin star restaurant - maybe a one-off I can't comment but our experience was excellent all round.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_n_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I am almost reluctant writing this review especially when I see what the owner replies on bad reviews but here you go.
Plus: very good space room and bathroom, clean and good service (the woman at the reception was very nice). Nothing to complain really. We did have a room with view but not sure this is necessary (at least not for us) but again appreciable.
Minus: potentially a bit far from center compared to other hotels/ motels but if you have a car this is not an issue at all (only 5 minutes drive) and this is close to lake matheson). Very quiet, almost too much? We have nothing to say against the place but we just wondered how expensive it was compared to other places. We booked based on the reviews and because it was our honeymoon we didn't care about the price but looking around we realized that most places were full so we did wonder if we could have found similar for cheaper... So I would probably recommend investigating. It is true that the cooler does not really work but no big deal. We did not try breakfast as we found cheaper places in the center... Having said that, maybe the portion were much bigger at the hotel.
Overall, a very good place but potentially a but pricy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamandElodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
366 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,238 reviews
12.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $125 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing