We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had never stayed at a B&B so were not sure what to expect. Dave and Lea at Misty Peaks, can't speak highly enough of them and their hospitality.

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute we were there. Dave is a great breakfast cook and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were warm and cosy and very clean and comfortable. Loved the under floor heating!

I think we have now been ruined for future stays at other B&B's. We felt extremely well looked after and totally spoilt.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Misty Peaks to other travellers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    53
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
210
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay here while touring. What a fabulous place. Made to feel welcome and enjoyed meeting our fellow guests with wine and cheese at 6.30pm. Very clean and very tasteful and the views were sublime. Breakfast had everything you could think of - would stay there without hesitation - highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed two nights in this excellent B&B which started with a hartley welcome from Lea, who has a warm and friendly character. Breakfast was really exquisite, the daily informal gathering with snacks and wine were a delight. We were very sorry to hear that Dave couldn't be present at the time. The location is great: out of the busy center, but only 2 minutes drive from it and a superb view on Mt Cook and Mt Tasman! Very comfortable rooms. The place to be when in Fox Glacier.
Many thanks, Lea.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Many thanks, Lea, for making us so welcome, sorry Dave wasn't there to join us........
Rina was a great substitute, thanks Rina, enjoyed both your companies. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy, views were magnificent. Breakfasts were lovely and we had good selection. Would recommend to everyone.
Great lady, great place and once again thanks,Lea.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were given a warm welcome from Lea (Dave was away which I assume is why there was no dining option) with tea/coffee and lots of information on how to make best use of our time in Fox. Our room was a twin (we had expected a double) and looked tired, in need of a bit of an update but there was complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits and a lovely view of the mountains – including Mount Cook when the clouds finally lifted. (The room had obviously been furnished as a double originally as witnessed by the fixed headboard which meant I was leaning against the wall when sitting up in bed). Complimentary wine and cheese at 6.30pm is a tradition here, where you meet other guests. Lea made some good recommendations for dinner. As other reviewers have noted, the fridge is incredibly noisy and I’m afraid we switched it off overnight. Breakfast is cooked to order, and was good.
And free unlimited wifi – way to go!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our last two nights in New Zealand and we were made very welcome by Lea during our stay in her friendly home. Lea sugggested that we take a helicopter trip to Fox's Glacier and arranged it for us and as the base was right next door off we went - a great experience. Staying with Lea was a delight - the peace of her home and the great breakfast of anything that we could have wanted and more - made our last two days warm and cosy.. We wish her well as she is going through a sad time, but we would not have known and she gave us much kindness. Thank you Lea - so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowse2014hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Comfortable and homey! Not far from the main part of town and not far from Lake Matheson!
Very nice set up over all. Their property is huge and you can walk around if you're a jet-lagged traveler.
The hosts provide a pre-dinner drinks and snacks every night. It's a great time for people to converse with other guests. Same thing with breakfast! Hosts were hospitable and helpful throughout!
What I loved about the rooms was the heated mattress! It can get pretty cold at night. The room I stayed in allowed me to open the windows and walk right into the property's open space. Very nice in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle Fu Hua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing