We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B&B”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B&B”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Lea made us feel most welcome in her purpose built bed and breakfast facility.

Each room has private access along with a full ensuite, we were very comfortable and had a great nights rest, the bed and linen were clean and comfy.

The only minor issue was a late arriving guest however this can be hard for the proprietor to control. Considering the accommodation choices in the area this was by far the best choice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amster39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    53
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
210
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rooms are good but basic- not really as luxurious as they look in the photos and for the price you pay.
Positives- room was nice and clean, close to the city centre, the evening wine and cheese was a nice touch, breakfast was nice. Lea and Dave helpful with suggestions.
Negatives- Our room fridge was not making a noise so we had to unplug it, some toiletries were missing, there was a helicopter landing pad outside our room which was extremely noisy and the balcony door kept unlatching and opening every time a chopper landed further increasing the noise unless you firmly locked that door with a key.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhalshilpaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Few rooms, cozy, spacious and warm, to make every guest feel home.
10 minutes walking from the main (maybe the only) street of Fox Glacier small village, hosted by a nice and kind lady that welcomes every guest with a smile.
The B&B is really a living house where all guests can spend time and relax. It's very nice to sit on the sofa and talk to the host, or her friend or any other guest and share travel experience and/or suggestions.
Breakfast is served in the main dining room and all the guets sit together and enjoy the morning kick start - juices, jams, milk and coffee, eggs, bread...
In previous reviews also dinner was mentioned as available - unfortunately that is not possible anymore but you will be wisely suggested where to have dinner at
Rooms are very comfortable with plenty of space and amenities.
Wifi connections available
Every day, at 6.30pm, the host offers a glass of wine with some cheese to all her guests - a real plus.
There is also the opportunity to be picked up/dropped of at the bus station in case of need
I would really recommend to spend your time at the glaciers at Fox (better than Franz J) and at Misty Peaks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just had one night here. Lovely room, warm and good quality. Felt very welcomed by Lea and Dave. They do a great job as hosts and the breakfast was excellent. Particularly enjoyed chatting to them and other guests around a bottle or two of wine and a plate of cheese they serve each afternoon as a sort of canapes / happy hour session.
Their recommendation for places to eat and things to see were great, and Lea does bookings for the Helicopter trips from the nearby field.
Its about a 10 minute leisurely stroll into the main street / pub, which is great if you intend to have a few drams.
They've got that mix of small size, personal touch and great surroundings that make staying here far more of an 'experience' than just a night in a motel. Its memorable, not just a sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived, our hosts Lea & Dave made us feel very welcome. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Drinks at 6.30pm were great with much laughter by all. In fact, we had to drag ourselves away to go out for dinner! Breakfast is a feast and I must say watching Dave slave over the hot stove was deserved - pay-back for his wonderful acerbic humour! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts - down to making last minute scenic flight bookings with the helicopter tour operators who fly from right outside the back door! For a warm and friendly atmosphere in comfortable accommodation look no further.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C_Sanbonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Misty Peaks is located 2 mins from fox glacier center and 50 meters from a Helicopter base. So all the activities you desire can be easily started from here.
The lodge offers five rooms, ous was good in size and had a nice bathroom. Very useful is that you can bring in your luggage through the terrace windows and you can go there with the car to unload.
Breakfast is nice with fruits and cereals and some warm options that are freshly prepared. The coffee was the best one we found in NZ.
So, great place to stay, absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Misty Peaks for 2 nights in late November and can highly recommend this wonderful place.
Lea and David go out of their way and work so hard to provide a wonderful stay for their visitors.
Highly highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moshsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.7 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing