We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location with views of the glaciers, close to town”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed February 17, 2010

very comfortable, family owned motel in a very rural area - laundry facilities - close to a very good restaurant and town and the glaciers and peaks we were there to see

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The room was well serviced and had all the things that we needed. We had excellent service at the desk and they were able to direct us to fun day activities and recommend places to eat. The view was just fantastic - a great place for a quiet coffee to relax. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

After a long drive from Queenstown was really looking forward to relaxing in a clean and pleasant motel room which was recommended by our travel agent. After we checked in we were directed to our room and were instantly disappointed by what we found. the first thing I noticed on the wall was note stating that if we didn't wash the dishes before we left a $20 service fee would be charged to our credit card. The dishes in fact were dirty, the room had not been vacuumed, half empty milk carton left on a cupboard and to top it off the room smelt of urine. I contacted staff and they keen to rectify the problems as soon as possible. We wouldn't stay again after driving around the town , it is quite obvious there are many other options available for families which were much mnore appealing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen6485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Check booking really well before going to Sunset motels. They missed the bit on helping out customers in case service is required for tourists in a strange country.

We cannot commend on the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frisowolters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2010

This person had only a quote for our motel not a confirmed booking. He arrived at 11pm but we were full. We suggested another property for him that would still be open at that time of night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at the Sunset Motel when we visited Fox Glacier on our way to Queenstown. It is one of the best most friendly motels we have stayed in - in the South Island. The rooms are large and well equipped with access to a garden area out the back. Everything is clean are modern.
The motel is 3 mins out of the main town on the way to Lake Matheson - which by the way is a great place for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We were here overnight in November, and it was cold. Though the windows could have given a wonderful view, most of the time the mist was down, and every time it lifted the snow had come further down the mountain. One of the windows in our room was cracked. The best thing to say about this motel is that the receptionist was very pleasant and there is a good laundry. There was a comfortable sofa, but we found the whole place rather basic for our taste. It had all the facilities that you would expect, but somehow they just didn't come up to scratch for us. We stayed in motels in New Zealand that were cheaper than this and which had better furnishings, and fitments, and which were warmer. There was not a lot of privacy, as other guests could be walking past our windows and could look right in if they wished to, but of course without the big windows you wouldn't have the view. We would stay somewhere different if we go to Fox again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

What a nice place. We took my in-laws to the Coast for their 80th Birthday treat. The Hosts were great, nothing was too much. They told us the best place to eat and what to see. The Helicopter ride with The Helicopter Line was amazing too. The rooms were clean and compfy, lovely thick white Towels and a view to die for. The whole of the back wall is glass and to wake up in the morning looking at the mountains while having a cup of tea is, wow! You can see the colours changing as the sun moves around. There is also a small area to sit and soak in the place. Lake Matheson is 5 mins drive away, just straight down the road. Will stay again and look forward to seeing it all again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $78 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing