We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stop-over”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at the Sunset Motel when we visited Fox Glacier on our way to Queenstown. It is one of the best most friendly motels we have stayed in - in the South Island. The rooms are large and well equipped with access to a garden area out the back. Everything is clean are modern.
The motel is 3 mins out of the main town on the way to Lake Matheson - which by the way is a great place for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 333 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

We were here overnight in November, and it was cold. Though the windows could have given a wonderful view, most of the time the mist was down, and every time it lifted the snow had come further down the mountain. One of the windows in our room was cracked. The best thing to say about this motel is that the receptionist was very pleasant and there is a good laundry. There was a comfortable sofa, but we found the whole place rather basic for our taste. It had all the facilities that you would expect, but somehow they just didn't come up to scratch for us. We stayed in motels in New Zealand that were cheaper than this and which had better furnishings, and fitments, and which were warmer. There was not a lot of privacy, as other guests could be walking past our windows and could look right in if they wished to, but of course without the big windows you wouldn't have the view. We would stay somewhere different if we go to Fox again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

What a nice place. We took my in-laws to the Coast for their 80th Birthday treat. The Hosts were great, nothing was too much. They told us the best place to eat and what to see. The Helicopter ride with The Helicopter Line was amazing too. The rooms were clean and compfy, lovely thick white Towels and a view to die for. The whole of the back wall is glass and to wake up in the morning looking at the mountains while having a cup of tea is, wow! You can see the colours changing as the sun moves around. There is also a small area to sit and soak in the place. Lake Matheson is 5 mins drive away, just straight down the road. Will stay again and look forward to seeing it all again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb - summer so most thngs booked - little choice - room was asic but clean and fine but we had a view over a carpark and the comings and going of all other guests so had to pull curtains to get some p[rivacy as total glass fronted - is a little way out of "town" so had to drive in - its not bad just not that good - I think as so much trade there over summer you cant go wrong as an owner - would try and find somewhere else if was there again - if not all booked up!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

A little bit further out of town than the other hotels but perhaps one of the newer ones - only a 10 minute leisurely walk. roomy with QS bed, counch and small table. outdoor patio with table and chairs also. the rooms did smell a little but we think it was the cleaning products they use.

not a destination in its own right but somewhere to stay in fox if you are doing a helicopter ride.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz_honeymooners09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

What a view. I opened the curtain in the morning and was greeted by the glacier and mountains with Mt Cook in the background. There was no cloud in that direction. It only lasted five minutes but it was definitely a good place to be standing at the time.

The location is a short way out of town, about 10-15 minutes on foot. The staff were friendly and the place was clean. Upon check in the lady also phoned the glacier guiding people to confirm our start time for the following day. The main reason for people coming to the town is the glacier but the town still remains fairly small with 4 or so restaurants, shop and petrol station. We ate out both nights and the food was good both times even if it did take Café Neve an hour (yes an hour) to make an omelette!

There will be some helicopter noise in the morning but it wasn’t that bad and if you’re sensible you will be on one of these anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Basic apartment - quite small but clean. On the outskirts of the town but easy walking distance - and good views of Mount Cook when sky clear. Good place to stay if just stopping over to visit the Glacier. Lots of helicopters buzzing about in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giddychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $86 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing