We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Handy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were quite small and cleaniness lacked a little with dishes not checked before next guests, our glasses still had lipstick marks on them. Kitchen area rather small .... Nice outlook and quiet. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisej025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the dishes being dirty and I will be speaking to our cleaning staff about this. If this had been mentioned to us I would have happily replaced the dishes for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thanks Linsey Evans Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    118
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
193
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gympie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Coming into the township of Fox Glacier, we were not sure what our accom would be like and when we pulled into the Sunset motel we were just happy to have a bed for the night. However, the totally amazing view from our room, self catering kitchen, lovely (albeit a tad coolish...but we were near three snow! ) garden sitting area, lovely friendly owners, made our stay very very pleasant! Would recommend this motel very highly...and we could park right outside our room.

Room Tip: The room closest to reception had amazing views and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The check in was quite good and as we were keen to do the walk to the terminal face of the Fox Glacier we quickly changed into our outdoor gear, used the bathroom and departed for the Glacier. We both commented that there was an unusual smell in the room which we put down to a cleaning product.

When returned after hours walking in the rain we showered, changed and departed for dinner. You will note by now we had spent little time in the room which had a good view of Mt Cook. It could be spotted when the clouds whipped by every now and then.

When we returned from dinner the smell was more noticeable, urine maybe or carpet cleaner covering urine? For the first time we noticed that the carpet was wet so we opened the windows a bit to try and dispel the smell which worked to some degree.

I suggested that we ask for another room but my wife said that as we had used the bathroom and it was now late it would be ok for one night. In the morning we discovered that the crockery and cutlery had been put away wet and the microwave wasn’t working!

In short a poor experience that is unique in our many visits to NZ. This motel is in a reasonable location with great views but there needs to be more attention to detail and if the room’s carpet had been cleaned it was too smart to let it with wet, smelly carpet.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of staying at the Sunset Motel at Fox Glacier we would strongly suggest you chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZRCFLYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you weren't happy with your stay. Your review is the first that we had heard of the issues that you had. I am unsure as to why the carpet appeared wet as the carpets are cleaned during June not during the time of your stay. All the issues that you had mentioned could have been easily fixed had you advised us of them during your stay. We would have happily moved you to another room even if you had used the bathroom or any of the other facilities. I have spoken to our cleaner about the dishes also. The microwave not working unfortunately was not mentioned to us at the time as this could have easily been swapped. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Sunset Motels. thanks Linsey Evans Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location

Helpful friendly owners

Room decent size and comfortable. There was a slightly funny smell when we first got to the room, not sure what it was but all the other rooms had the same smell. Apparently it is the smell of the grass.

Useful to have basic cooking equipment to make simple dinners. Overall a happy stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr and Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We parked right outside our room and settled in. We had a lovely view of the mountains and had fun trying to photograph them in the evening light. We also felt that our outside space was quite private and enjoyed relaxing over dinner there, having cooked in the kitchenette in the room. We booked knowing that the motel was a bit further out and we'd probably therefore cook dinner for ourselves this night, but we could have walked to the main road in town to eat. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was smart. There was no noise from adjacent rooms and our stay was peaceful.

The folk who ran the motel were really friendly ... why stay at a chain motel when you can stay somewhere like this?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Given the poor quality of motels in Fox and Franz Joseph, this place stands out as modern, clean and good value for money. The views from the bedroom were a nice bonus. Would recommend if you need a convenient base for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_76_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed for three nights at the Sunset Motel. We were in a lovely spa suite :) The kitchenette was brilliant and we were able to cook our own meals if we wanted, About a 10 minute walk into the main street, but it was lovely weather to walk in and have some lunch. Great range of TV channels! The bed was so comfy - the mainroom and the bathroom had a heater. Lovely lounge to chill on and watch tv or look at the AMAZING view of the mountains. When we checked out, the owner was so kind and gave us a lift into town (so we didnt have to drag our luggage). Would recommend sunset to anyone staying in Fox. <3 my favourite place so far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdavis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing