We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...But sorry..I don't rate it !!”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ok...But sorry..I don't rate it !!”
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We had a one night stay at Fox Glacier during the April School Holidays.

Fox Glacier itself is fine. Great part of the world. Excellent scenery and a great dining experience at the carvey/buffet put on at the nearby Fox Glacier Hotel.

Sunsel Motel is modern, well situated not too far from town but is overated and expensive compared to other places we stayed of a similar or better quality.

Our family room had a rather strong odour of disinfectant or something similar which was really off puting for our stay. The room had been closed up and was extremely stuffy. Took a long time to become inhabitable. The room was reasonably spacious but nothing outstanding and just had an ambiance of adequate but cheap. (unlike the pricing unfortunately). The owner was quite friendly but otherwise I would have been happier with other accomodation.

As stated by other reviewers, the view of Mt Cook is certainly no better than what you would get at other motels close by.

We very rarely find complaint with any accomodation and are not really complaining as such here, but I think you can do better at Fox Glacier or at least find something comparable for a more reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor value for money and strong unpleasant odour in our room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
194
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night prior to a heli-hike on Fox Glacier. The Motel is a 10 minute walk (or 2 minute drive) from the town centre, but that isn’t really a problem, and indeed means you are away from traffic noise. Our room was very generously sized, clean and comfortable, with a good bathroom and a kitchen area that was quite adequate for preparing breakfast. Don’t, though, expect too much of the views from the picture windows. The near-distance views are uninspiring, whilst you won’t get the benefit of the alleged views towards the glacier unless you happen to be in your room at a time when the cloud has lifted. The trouble is, when the cloud does lift, the chances are you’ll be on the glacier, not in your room!

Like most motel accommodation, one couldn’t describe the Sunset Motel as having any character, but as motels go, it was good value at $179 for a large and comfortable room.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — lack of character
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank P_and_T_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I booked a deluxe room with SPA for 2 nights last February. I was expecting something very especial, particularly because it was 200 NZ$ a night and we had stayed in other places for less price that were quite impressive.
According to their site, they offer unimpeded views of Mount Cook, which is not correct. You can’t see Mt Cook from the motel [only from lake Matheson]. From our room we had a view of one B&B, so it was not “unimpeded” view of the mountains.
Besides that, the spa tub that I was really longing for after 4 hours walk on the Fox glacier was so tiny and small that I could hardly fit in [and I’m not that big!].
In general the room does look nice [but not especial or luxurious] and it was ok for 2 nights, but I think it’s overpriced, especially because of the higher price for a SPA room where the spa is really not good.
If you want to stay here, just don’t pay the extra money for the Spa and don’t expect the Mt Cook view.

  • Disliked — the SPA tub was very small!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

The Sunset Motel is a nice travel motel just off the main road through Fox Glacier, on the road to Lake Mathieson. We booked a room for the night prior to our glacier hike, and found it to be a lovely stop for the night. Read on for details...

LOCATION:
While a bit beyond easy walking distance from either downtown Fox Glacier (closer) or Lake Mathieson (farther), it's a matter of just a few minutes drive (or bike) from either. Parking in downtown was not an issue during our stay, so having to drive wasn't a problem at all. But if you're in a camper or otherwise opposed to driving to/from the hotel all the time, you'd better have a bike or be prepared for a bit more of a walk than from many of the other area hotels.

ROOMS:
The room was larger than we'd expected, and well cleaned. We lucked out and had the end unit, so we had large windows facing two directions, with great views. The partial kitchenette was clean, and had an assortment of teas and coffee for the morning. The bathroom was sizable with an ample supply of hot water.

Only one small issue with the room, in that the flat roof is either corrugated metal, or some other plate-like material. We had the misfortune of absolutely foul weather in the evening, and the driving rain on the roof sounded like someone playing marbles above us all night long. Most guests will never encounter a problem, but if truly foul weather is in the forecast, I hope you're a sound sleeper!

STAFF:
Cannot say enough good things about the desk staff. The two people we interacted with could not have been more helpful in suggesting restaurants and helping us with our questions. We felt very well taken care of throughout our stay.

Overall, Sunset was a great choice for us, and a good base of operations for activities around Fox Glacier. If we'd planned to put down roots for more than a few days, we might have wanted something closer into town, but otherwise this is a great option for exploring this beautiful area.

  • Liked — Very helpful staff, spacious room
  • Disliked — Just a slight bit outside of comfortable walking distance from town
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We stayed at the Sunset Motel in early January for one night, in a mountain view studio, which was $185 pn.

The room was a nice size, clean, and included a very comfortable bed and sofa. As we were only staying for one night we didn't use the kitchen equipment (apart from the fridge), but it all seemed good quality and well organised.

The view from the room was great; once the cloud cover cleared, we could see the top of Mt Cook. We had a nice little terrace with outdoor table and chairs (although they were a bit cobweb-covered!) and the surrounding garden was well looked after.

The gentleman on reception seemed very nice and was very helpful with places to visit / restaurants to try.

The property is located a few minutes' drive from the centre of Fox Glacier, so was very nice and quiet when we were there. It is also a few minutes' drive to Lake Matheson - visit here early morning if you can, for a great view of Mount Cook reflected in the lake.

Overall, a nice comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Nice partial view of Mount Cook, good location between Fox Glacier / Lake Matheson.
  • Disliked — nothing really!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Knowing that Fox glacier is a small area with very few motels/hotels we knew that it would be pretty pricey. We payed $195... Kind of small room... had a newish sort of smell, but a bit too airy and open which is bad because it got reletivly cold there and this was summer!! The lady at reception was very nice! She showed us things to do on a map and to go visit Lake Matheson. Unfortunatly Fox expereinces very cloudy weather and so we were unable to do our planned helicopter flight, we chose to not bother spending another night there as there wasnt much to do. Be warned,there arent many restaurants and to try to get to the places early say 5ish 6 ish as some restuarants turn people away even though they arent even busy at all!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank sl1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

There are two parts to this review: the staff, and the accommodation itself.

First, the staff was great. Simon (one of the owners) was totally helpful, and gave us lots of great recommendations that really enhanced our trip. Among them, he suggested going to Café Neve and Matheson Café (both of which we loved); driving to Queenstown through Wanaka and Cardrona versus the alternate route we had in mind—and the route he advised was absolutely breathtaking; and taking a jet boat ride in Queenstown which is something that we thought would be cheesey and overhyped, but was actually really fun and something we'd recommend. So for the service, we give 5 stars.

As for the accommodations, this property was more expensive than some of the others we were considering, but we chose Sunset almost solely because of all the Tripadvisor reviews that raved about the spectacular views from the property. And we suspect our room (#2) would have had great views but, sadly, the peaks were obscured by clouds for the whole time we were there! The motel website doesn’t misrepresent anything and obviously no one has control over the weather (just FYI, apparently it’s often quite cloudy in Fox Glacier). But it was disappointing nonetheless, and I ended up feeling a bit like I’d wished we’d stayed somewhere less expensive—especially because the moment you walk out the door from virtually anywhere in Fox Glacier, you’ll get amazing views on a clear day. Lake Matheson motel, Rainforest motel, Mt. Cook View motel, and a few others are all on the same road as Sunset so, if cost is a consideration, those might be worth looking into as well.

That said, the rooms are fine. Ours was spacious and had a great kitchenette (though the linens could use some updating.)

  • Liked — Helpful tips from staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing