We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise, surprise!”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long drive, we were glad to arrive here to find a property, that quite frankly, was better than I was expecting.
In fact, the whole place looked as if it had just been dropped off, fresh from the factory!
Isn't it strange that often, just one aspect can make or break a visit to somewhere new? For my wife and I, we were impressed by two. The room faced the valley leading up to the Ccok and Tasman peaks, so the view was gorgeous, and even better, there was a small terrace beyond the sliding doors, so you could experience the view and the fresh air, together. We decided instantly, that we would dine in and enjoy the view for as long as possible. The shops around Fox Glacier were more than capable of providing for our needs.
We have just one grumble, and it's the "wifi" thing again. For many travellers nowadays, wifi isn't an optional extra. They need it to keep in touch, and while Sunset wasn't as expensive as big city hotels,the extra costs all add up. Note to owners. Use free wifi as your USP. I don't think you'd be disappointed with the results!
Finally, one concern for some travellers. There are two heli pads quite close to the Motel, which could cause you disturbance during the day if you were around. We didn't really mind, but it's worth considering if you'd really prefer silence!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 274couldabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean and modern, good size room with a microwave and electric frying pan.
Internet access was provided. The motel was situated a short drive out of Fox Glacier township.
The views from the room were excellent looking out on the mountain backdrop.
There is a guest laundry but it provides only a cold wash.
The room was quiet although there is a helipad close by although it was only noticeable if the patio door was open.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikewhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We previously booked the room for two nights. I asked when I arrived if I could check out after one night instead. I was told that I would be charged for the room anyway. I could understand this if the motel was booked solid and my checking out early would cause them to loose money. But only a handful of rooms had been reserved, leaving more than 50% available. I could find no reason for them to charge me an extra night if I didn't stay. The room was actually very nice, but this experience would prevent me from staying there again.
Also: nice laundry facility, but it was $7.00 for one load.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sunset Motel. The owners are very friendly and very helpful, the units are tidy and quite comfortable, the view's great - though we didn't know the mountains were there for two days as it didn't stop raining! We spent three nights there, the days were mostly wet so we were indoors a lot. Our room had a two seater sofa that was fine to lay on to read, basic cooking facilities, and a decent bathroom.

The bed we were in was a bit tired, it felt quite soft and I think is due for replacement. We slept ok, they're better than some hotels we've been in, but are probably a little below average. The cooking equipment is adequate for simple meals, but you wouldn't want to cook much there. The top curtains in the room are a bit pointless, the only just reach the bottom of the top window so light streams in in the mornings. Water pressure in the bathroom shower is quite low, but it's adequate.

Overall they're tidy, comfortable units, with great service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent three days over Christmas here, apart from the beautiful setting with views of Mount Cook and the other mountains around, the peaceful atmosphere, we found the host and hostess of the motel very helpful and lovely people to deal with if we had questions, needed to book anything (which they were able to give discount on) or were friendly just to ask how our day was. We had a perfect three days there, and had absolutely nothing to fault. We would recommend it to anywhere as a lovely location to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room because it is worth eating whilst looking at them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie15789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, well equipped and spacious with really friendly staff. Its good value for money and the views are to die for. We stayed just one night in the area and we had a massive maui campervan with us, but to be honest we wanted a night in a proper bed with a proper shower etc. This was a good choice and can be highly recommended. There was plenty of room to park the camper and the owner gave us a great rate on the best room in the hotel. Its an easy flat 10 minute walk into to the bars in town and its on the road to the Mirror lake too so its got a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great place, great location. Host (owners) are very nice, ready to help and provide advise
Any time. Units are lovely and containe all needed for your stay. If younare visiting New Zealand, don't miss this area and this motel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 11 in Fox Glacier
367 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 11 in Fox Glacier
173 reviews
12.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $101 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing