We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very friendly owner. Very clean and spacious with small table and chairs outside room to sit at. Basic kitchenette with microwave, toaster and electric frypan. We cooked our evening meal on one of the nights, but check what's available in your room before buying food to cook. Room was serviced the next day but towels were not changed and no more toiletries provided, but this really wasn't an issue. Can't remember if there was a sign saying if we wanted new towels to place used ones on the floor, which is standard in a lot of hotel/motels now. They really don't need changing everyday anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
194
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The welcome was warm despite driving rain and low cloud that completely obscured the "mountain view" from the room....not the fault of the motel, obviously. The room was clean and well appointed and the bed large and comfortable. My real objection was the expectation (no, demand, on pain of an extra cleaning fee!) to wash up after a breakfast that was basic at best, prepaid and delivered to the lodge the night before. I've never been expected to wash up after a bought breakfast before!! So, no thank you, I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed in March 2012...my wife and I had a really enjoyable stay. When we stayed at Fox Glacier we had been in NZ for some time. We found that for the room quality (modern, clean, new furniture, decent size etc) that this was one of the better value motels we found. It is close to the city centre, Lake Matheson, and the Glacier walk. We used the kitchenette for our breakfast which was great. The rooms are well insulated from the cold and noise (not that there is a lot of noise in sleepy Fox Glacier). At least two recent reviews said internet was an extra charge but it was free for us...maybe the motel recently changed its policy? In fact am writing this from the hotel room and the connection is good. The garden and views are great.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarthe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night in Sunset Motel in a Studio room. The studio room was clean but the mattress needed to be changed. The hotel charge you 10$/day for wireless Internet which is not reasonable.
Unfortunately because of the weather we couldn't enjoy the view but this has nothing to do with the Motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night in February 2012 (having stayed 3 times before) on route up the West Coast.
A good quality motel. Stayed in a studio unit - the price was not cheap (but not outrageous compared to others in Fox which have tried before), but you get what you pay for.
The unit was sizeable and well laid out. All units are positioned in order to offer splendid views of Mount Cook - but too much cloud on our visit this time. The owners are friendly, helpful and on-site.
The wet room style shower was excellent. The kitchenette was modest but perfectly adequate and containing all needed and in good order. The bed was sizeable and sufficiently comfy. A comfy settee and book table also. Plenty of storage space. Wifi available: signal good, but charge a little expensive if only staying one night (try and negotiate as part of the booking price, perhaps?).
A good stay, will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the motel for two nights. It was perfectly located. The view from the rear of the units (which included a little balcony with table and chairs) was truly magnificent. The motel room was quite spacious with minimal cooking facilities and a double couch. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossvale
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Good drive from queenstown roads are good lots of beautiful landscape just a bit out of town very quite check inn-check out fast&friendly asked about the tours were booked and on a flight in 40 min up to the glacier stayed in room 25 spa room it was a bit on the small side good kitchenette plenty of towels spa bath was on the small side not good for a big boned person water pressure was not good when turned on the hot water cold water was fine though very clean wifi $10 for unlimited use has a 2 seater lounge nice views from outside your room of mt cook when he wants to show himself though not very private was a sign on wall that a fee of $20 would be charged if the dishes were not washed up but there was a few of them in some of the motels we stayed in

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing