We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but impractical unit with spoilt view”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice but impractical unit with spoilt view”
Reviewed November 21, 2007

This gets Golden Chain’s Gold rating so decor and fittings in the large unit were nice, but we found a serious shortage of cooking equipment (and no teapot!). Unit was large and comfortable but with a strange warning that if you ran out of hot water it would take two hours to reheat so, fearing the worst, we showered quickly although didn’t encounter problems. After a few minutes use of the hairdryer the lights started to dim. We could only assume this was due to some weird green power policy they had. Units are very new in nice, if rather barren, grounds. However our view towards the mountains was marred by a large fence screening the adjacent (rather scruffy) property. Lack of net curtains on the very large window made it necessary to draw the curtains to protect one’s modesty. Quiet location but a fair step to the village with its eateries and shop.

Helpful?
1 Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
194
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

The property was clean, however the decor was a bit ordinary (not old or shabby, just... bla. Australians would call it 'daggy') and we thought the location was a little far out of town. Heating could've been better. The bed was the worst we slept in while we were in New Zealand, it was far too soft, it would just sort of collapse under your weight, very little support. We're not overweight either, both within the healthy weight range!

Reception was really friendly and very helpful, they knew plenty about the area and were able to recommend places to eat and tourist attractions.

Thought it was overpriced for what it was, we paid $175NZ per night for a basic room in what most accommodation providers refer to as the 'shoulder season', which had a bed, TV, microwave, tea/coffee facilities and an ensuite bathroom. We paid less than that per night for a very central, very modern, lakeview 1 Bedroom apartment with full kitchen facilities and spa in Queenstown. I think perhaps there is less accommodation available in Fox, so they can get away with charging a little more but it was stiil a bit disappointing.

  • Liked — Reception was very friendly, helpful and informative
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed, seemed overpriced.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

The management of this motel were excellent - very friendly and helpful. We planned to stay 3 nights but reduced it to 2 when we were able to do our helihike on the first day - the management were very generous and did not charge us for our short notice in cancelling.

The room was big, double bed, sky tv, fridge, microwave with 2 heaters (we needed them!) and bathroom impressive - spa bath with heated towel rail. View amazing - right over glacier and valley.

Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — comfortable room and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Couldn't have asked for more here. Reception were really helpful. We had a spa room (the best bath of our 3 week trip!) The room had everything you would need, with fabulous views over the mountains. Although it's a bit of a walk into town we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKI-ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We loved this motel - very modern, comfortable, warm and reasonably priced. Many details like heated bathroom & towel rail were appreciated. Nice decor & beautiful outlook (if the mist had lifted). The manager was friendly & helpful.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank daytrippa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed at the Sunset Motel for one night in August this year. We booked via the iSite in Wanaka and I was very impressed with the motel. It is very new and everything was in pristine condition. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that had twin beds in the living room. It was a unit that had been adapted for disabled access, so the shower was a walk in one, but it was well designed so the whole bathroom didn't get soaked!
The beds were very comfortable and there were great views towards Mt Cook (unfortunately the weather was awful while we were there though..)
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and for $140 I thought this motel was one of the best we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We had good weather! We booked our room and the room itself was very nice and clean. We had a kitchenette and full glass on one end so you could see Mount Cook. Unfortunately, there was way too much drizzling rain and fog and thus we saw nothing. It was disappointing but what can you do?! Oh well. The hosts were really nice, we ran out of toothpaste and we asked if they had any to buy and they just gave us their own tube to use! It was very nice of them. All together, it was a nice place and we would stay again.

  • Liked — Could have had a great view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kimz92684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing