We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money and nice owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at many motels during our travels in New Zealand but this was really the nicest. Just everything was new - the beds, the bathroom. The very friendly owner offered helpful recommendations for seeing the glacier and evening dining.

We were very much suprised. From the outside it looks like just a nice motel - but once you are in the rooms you really appreciate the extra care taken by the owners. It was very good value for the money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Lake Matheson Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 383 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2009

Very nice young staff members greeted us. The $10 Internet was sketchy all night but we didn't ask for refund (maybe should have). Room was quite comfortable; however, "double" bed was two twins with crack (don't like that). Electric blankets worked very well as did room heater. No plug in bathroom for hair dryer or curling iron (?) so had to blow dry and curl hair in kitchen, having moved the bathroom mirror into the kitchen.

Positives: Took advantage of their discount for helicopter trips, VERY quiet at night, strong water pressure, VERY nice (soft and large) towels, room/bathroom was clean and tidy, near to the town center (and close enough to Franz Josef) and has cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danthatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Although the pictures of this place in the tourist brochures make it look like a large and established building it is actually a bunch of prefabricated cottages in a paddock along the road to Lake Matheson. The Kiwi owners seemed to be in absentia and the fort was being held by an itinerant worker from Europe who went through his spiel with something almost approaching enthusiasm. The internet (Wifi) had been off the night before “due to the change in the weather” but just in case it worked it was $10. It was also $25 an hour extra if you checked out after 10 am and $20 if you didn’t wash the dishes or left them in an “unacceptable standard”. There was a distinct lack of soap and a box of tissues was eventually located under the bathroom sink. There was a nice garden and undercover parking which made it easy to get the luggage in and out of the car in the rain. The room was pleasant enough but overpriced by 10-20%.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

we bought the internet access and the whole night i could not surf long on any website as the signal detected was very poor, while i tried switching places within our room, the signal is poor in every areas. The "double bed" is actually two single beds put together.
Did not asked for a refund for the internet usage, because despite this, the motel is actually quite ok for us with strong showerhead, roomy,clean and tidy, near to the town centre and having cooking facilities. The service staff is also friendly.And we are only staying for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed here just the one night on the way from East Cost to Wanaka. Good base to visit both Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers. Walking distance to restaurants and activity bookings. Rooms were clean and warm despite the frigid weather. Off street parking. Warm and friendly greeting from the office staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discover-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

great motel, clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff,

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed in a roomy double room. The kitchenette was functional with enough utensils. Heating is not adequate for us, as the bathroom was too cold for us to attempt to shower that night. We paid for the internet but it was not working, so we got our refund. Due to the heating and the non-working internet, we checked out after just one night. For the same price, we checked into another motel Bella Vista in the same area, though smaller, catered to our needs much better, and better located as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
362 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,391 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $89 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing