We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and helpful”
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed here in March 2008 (a little late with the review) and were pleasantly surprised given some lukewarm reviews at that point. We found it very convenient, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
We stayed in a premium 2 bedroom unit - like a small cottage almost.
Very clean. Maybe not falhy, but well equipped.
Peaceful location (though anywhere in Fox Glacier probably is).
Manager was very helpful in trying to get the heli-hike re-organised for us, after it was rained off. It didn't work out, but we appreciated the help.
We ended up doing just a helicopter flight (with glacier landing) which was expensive, but well worth it. It's still my 12 year old's highlight of a round the world trip.

Also, got up early one morning to get to Lake Matheson - well worth it. Make sure you keep going to Reflection Island - probably 40 minutes. Other spots look promising (particularly the jetty), but Reflection Island is the one and is well labelled.

We would recommend the Cook Saddle - pub/bistro - good food and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    151
    51
    11
    0
See reviews for
66
226
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Spent 2 nights. The room is basic but more than adequate. Mini kitchen came in handy. The motel is in a quiet location.

Beds are comfortable. Bathroom was a little tight, but ok.
The internet is not free, but for a small fee, the value is very good.
We enjoyed our stay, and have no complaints

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I had that awful sinking feeling when we came face-to-face with two unsmiling, snappy receptionists at the Lake Matheson Motel in Fox Glacier - it was as though we were intruding on them! We had to face them again half an hour later, to ask them to replace the dirty pillowcases of the extra pillows in the cupboard, which they did without any explanation or apology. Receptionists notwithstanding, the unit was otherwise spotless. We stayed at a premium spa studio and we found it to be very comfortable, with a perfectly equipped kitchenette, sitting room and dining room areas. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the spa bath simply wonderful. We also had our own undercover car port, just outside our unit, which made loading and unloading very easy. The motel laundry facilities are excellent.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

A typical motel room, small and comfortable. It is clean and well located for a short stroll to the village or a drive to the lake for the famous reflection. Keep an eye on the hills in the evening as Mt cook can be seen from here and may glow in the evening sunset.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

The rooms are a good size with a double & a single bed, table, small kitchen area with fridge, hob, microwave and separate shower & toilet.
Each unit has it's own parking space. You get a good view of the mountains surrounding the glacier, but no view of the glacier itself or of Lake Matheson, as it’s a few miles away!
It's only a few minutes walk into the town.
Overall, a nice place to stay. Worth considering if I returned.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not the views that you see on the website, so a bit mis-leading
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband, 2 children (12 & 9 yrs.), & I stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel for 2 nights from 26 - 28 March. It was a nice, spacious 2-bedroom premium room with kitchen. One bedroom had a queen-sized bed and the other room had two twin-sized beds. They provided us with a small milk as well as coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the room. There was also a laundry facility and covered parking. The motel is only about a 5-minute walk to the town center. We easily walked to dinner every night and to the Fox Glacier Guiding Building for our glacier hike and helicopter tour. The only places we drove to were Gillespies Beach (about 10 - 12 kilometers away) and Lake Matheson (about 3 - 5 kilometers away).

The only negative for us was the water pressure for the shower. It was virtually non-existent and resulted in twice as long in the shower to wash and rinse my daughter's and my long hair. No where else on our 20-day NZ excursion did we experience this.

  • Liked — Spacious, Clean Unit
  • Disliked — Water Pressure for Shower
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Stayed here mid Feb 2008. As others have commented, the name and photos are misleading. Lake Matheson is quite a hike away from the motel which is actually situated close to the town. Otherwise our stay was fine

Plus

A Standard Studio for $120 NZ was good and roomy
Very Clean
Big Bathroom
Good Kitchen
Enclosed carport at each unit
Heat lamps in bathroom
Nice view of the mountains

Minus

low water pressure in shower
Steamy bathroom without an extractor fan
No view of lake Matheson.....nowhere to be seen!

rating 9/10

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank niloc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Property: Lake Matheson Motel
Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing