We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy motel”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed over for 1 night before heading to Queenstown. We wanted an accessible room for 4 but there wasn't any, so they gave us 2 units of 1 bedroom and charged us the price of a 2-bedroom, appreciate the flexibility and discount! Clean and comfortable rooms, with small kitchen that is well-equipped and we managed to fix ourselves a decent steak meal! Sheltered parking right in front of our unit and the view of the mountains from the premises was just fabulous. Manager was great to offer us discount coupons for Fox Glacier helicopter tour but unfortunately we had booked with another provider.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavend3rmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    151
    51
    11
    0
See reviews for
66
226
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Positive Points : Fox Glacier is a very small town, the location was ok. Room was clear and well decorated, as well as the bathroom. Parking spot in front of your room. Lady at the reception was nice and helpful.

Negative Points : Breakfast (served the day before) was too expensive for what is was...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lake Matheson Motel provided clean, comfortable accommodations with the basic amenities. The location is in a quiet area, but within walking distance to the several eating establishments. It is convenient for a visit to Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson and was a good stop on our drive from Queenstown to Westport. Our accommodations for a family of 6 adults included a two bedroom unit and a queen studio unit. Management was welcoming. We had a good night's sleep and would recommend to others needing a motel in Fox Glacier. On a side note, the wifi happened to be spotty the evening of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbcjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel. We received the absolute best service from the 2 managers. We were treated like we were the only people who were staying at the motel. The male manager drove us to the Fox Glacier hike, and after our hike, he picked us up in a timely manner. We borrowed their large umbrellas for our hike, which kept us dry. He also drove us to the Lake Matheson area. He also drove us to a "secret" viewing area of the glacier 3 times. It was rainy and foggy, so each time we saw a different view (1st time - fog, 2nd time- a clearish view of the mountains, and 3rd time- finally the glacier with the mountains in the fog). He liked us so much (and it was my birthday) that it was his idea to take us to the viewing area for the third time. He had come to our room to tell us that he wanted to take us to see the glacier because we couldn't leave town without seeing the glacier. Everyone living in Fox Glacier seems genuinely happy, especially the staff at the Lake Matheson Motel. Staying at this motel makes me want to run a motel. The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. We were easily able to walk to the restaurants in town. We can't emphasize enough how pleasant and perfect our stay was in this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pineappledancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. For our convenience, the room was kept warm (heater was on) when we arrived at night around 7PM. Mike was wonderful to interact with. Our Fox Glacier activity was cancelled due to rains. He suggested us pretty good "free" alternatives and the cancellation turned out to be a blessing in disguise.
Regarding the room, we had booked the queen studio. The bathroom was also clean and tidy. And after the tiring day walks, the shower refreshed us. The kitchen was also good. We cooked rather than eating out. And last but not the least, we loved the smell of the candle :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prm2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price of a 2 bedroom apartment it's not really worth it. The town puts up its prices because of its location and they can, so I guess it's not their fault, except for we didn't have any power in the bedrooms. They had already given it to us at discount price but then we found we didn't have the power they didn't offer to discount more. It made us feel that they already new but didn't tell us about it. But the rooms were clean an tidy, nothing special though

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzasoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here in Jul'12 for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The place was clean and cosy and overlooking a huge garden. There was no central heating but the electric heaters and blankets were sufficient to keep us warm during the winter nights. Parking is just outside your unit. Location very convenient and close to the city centre and cafes and tour operators. It was a enjoyable stay, unfortunately didn't get to know the hostess much as we are out and about the whole time. Loved the Saloon pub/cafe nearby, good and hearty food :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Property: Lake Matheson Motel
Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing