We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Room with Glimpses of Mt Cook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had 2 nights here; our room was comfy, warm, very clean, perhaps a little compact (studio room with our son on the sofabed), and suited our needs, as our stay there was all about waiting on a heli ride onto Fox Glacier&Lake Matheson& a hike or two, depending on weather.

Myra is fantastic, full-bottle on the area&had very practical suggestions. Happily booked tours for us&recommended others which were spot-on.

We were lucky weather-wise. When we rolled into Fox township helicopter rides around Cook&Tasman would have been a waste of money as the cloud was too low, so instead we drove the 5 minutes to beautiful Lake Matheson and hiked around it. (1 hour) Even with Cook&Tasman shrouded in mist, the views from all the lookouts were amazing. The next day when it was sunny we went again for the amazing photo opportunities available.

Myra suggested the glow-worm walk, and organised torches for us that night, which was nice of her, and we really enjoyed it. I recommend you first do this 20minute walk in daylight so you don't take a wrong turn in the dark forest at night!

The motel is very close to everything, easy 5 minute walking distance to town, and if you drive down Cook Flat Rd a few minutes past the turn-off to Lake Matheson, then pull over on the side of the road&turn around, you can see the bottom of Fox Glacier, which was pretty impressive.

Incidentally, it is possible to walk to within 200m of the terminal face of the glacier. Drive to the car-park, then a 20 minute very pretty hike through the towering glacial valley (lots of waterfalls, too) to as far as is safe. (Stay behind the barriers, folks, the glacier is volatile.) Just ask Myra where to go.

If your trip is like ours - nothing actually booked&totally dependent on the weather before you decide, a bonus staying at this motel is something Myra showed us upon arrival; step out under the carport (carports - what a great idea for motels that get heaps of rain), look up - if you can see Mt Cook poking out between the other mountains, get ready to go touring immediately!

All the above were Myra's suggestions; we were very grateful to her for helping us get best value out of our 2 night stay.

Just one thing we didn't like about the motel - thin walls! We were regularly woken by noisy neighbours arguing/showering/packing&leaving in the dark. Sigh. If this is a problem, maybe Myra can stagger your room for you.

Perhaps some extra dishes for self-catering would also be handy. The few eateries in town make cooking necessary, and I had to juggle the dishes we had, but we managed, and maybe Myra would have supplied extras had I thought to ask.

Foodie tip for the Fox-bound while I think of it - if driving to Fox from the north, stop in Franz Josef township at the fairly non-descript Picnics Bakery directly opposite the Tourist Centre - fantastic breads/pastries/pies/cakes&a "Glacier Pastie" that took 2 of us to eat. Mmmmmm. We drove BACK to FJ the next day just for this bakery. Not a lot of shopping options in Fox, so stock up on all those fresh, yummy carbs while you can....btw Saturday is donut day....

Back to the motel, yes, i would happily return (we intend to), and recommend to others. It was very good value, friendly&comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face Mt Cook
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. And yes - Myra is a real treasure who goes that extra mile! Can I just add to your tip about east facing rooms having views of Mt Cook - they are also our smallest studios and have mini-kitchens - so only microwave, toaster, jug and utensils relevant to those pieces of equipment. If you want cooktops and pots and more spacious rooms, then go for the King Studios around the back which still have a nice outlook onto bushclad hills. Thanks again for taking the time to place your tripadvisor comments.
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Lake Matheson Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is in sleepy Fox Glacier, the rooms were adequate, friendly staff, decent heating, corner spa in the bathroom and a king size bed. A quiet spot which offers a quiet comfortable resting place,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write in a review of our business. Very pleased you liked your stay. A little disappointed though that you awarded it only 3 stars as we have worked very hard over the last 3 years in upgrading the kitchens, bathrooms, beds, carpets, etc to achieve our 4 star grading from Qualmark. However, I hope you left us having slept well and having enjoyed the peace and quiet and beautiful sights of Fox Glacier.
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first stop on our driving holiday was at Fox Glacier, staying at Lake Matheson Motel. When we left after dark to get some dinner, the imposing sight of the snow capped mountains was awesome. In the morning we went to Lake Matheson at daybreak and immersed ourselves in the beautiful sights and sounds of the lake and its abundant birdlife. This equals anything in the world for pure peaceful enjoyment, so moving. Now back to the motel. Everything you could ask for, warm, comfortable, clean, nice bed, quiet, yes a great place to stay and we can certainly recommend it for your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you :)
Guests like you make all our hard work worthwhile!
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Owner was so friendly and helpful - she is like your own personal guide book! She suggested a short walk at night into the forest to see glow worms which was just magical! Motel rooms are clean and modern. Owners are clearly passionate about what they do - keep up the good work!! 'The Last Kitchen' restaurant is delicious - would definately recommend a visit here too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you sooo much for your comments. Yes we do care alot about our business and always try out best to meet expectation, so it was an absolute pleasure to read your tripadvisor feedback.
Thanks again, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed for one night during 4 week holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very courteous young English lady who was very helpful in answering all our questions and made polite conversation. Our unit was nicely furnished & well equipped with a spectacular view of the mountains from the doorway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay here for 2 nights during our trip in NZ. Host was definitely very helpful and check in was quick and efficient. We love the studio we had - spacious, roomy, clean and very functional. Keep up the good work!

Location wise, very convenient as we could easily walk to the stores, cafes and shops on the main road. Also a great base to explore the surrounding areas of Fox and FJ. We made it our base for taking pre-wedding photo shoots. =)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wennyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The unit was clean with just a slight musty smell (which I have noticed in many motels and could be due to the heavy condensation during the winter months in NZ). The room was clean, warm, comfortable and quiet; the sheets were lovely and crisp which is always nice and always good to have a decent shower good. The kitchenette was nicely equipped but I found the cups a little stained. The rooms aren't the most sound proof but luckily our neighbours on either side were good and no great noise problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,204 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $86 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing