We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Matheson Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to start our holiday”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first stop on our driving holiday was at Fox Glacier, staying at Lake Matheson Motel. When we left after dark to get some dinner, the imposing sight of the snow capped mountains was awesome. In the morning we went to Lake Matheson at daybreak and immersed ourselves in the beautiful sights and sounds of the lake and its abundant birdlife. This equals anything in the world for pure peaceful enjoyment, so moving. Now back to the motel. Everything you could ask for, warm, comfortable, clean, nice bed, quiet, yes a great place to stay and we can certainly recommend it for your travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you :)
Guests like you make all our hard work worthwhile!
Cheers
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    151
    51
    11
    0
See reviews for
66
226
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Owner was so friendly and helpful - she is like your own personal guide book! She suggested a short walk at night into the forest to see glow worms which was just magical! Motel rooms are clean and modern. Owners are clearly passionate about what they do - keep up the good work!! 'The Last Kitchen' restaurant is delicious - would definately recommend a visit here too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you sooo much for your comments. Yes we do care alot about our business and always try out best to meet expectation, so it was an absolute pleasure to read your tripadvisor feedback.
Thanks again, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed for one night during 4 week holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very courteous young English lady who was very helpful in answering all our questions and made polite conversation. Our unit was nicely furnished & well equipped with a spectacular view of the mountains from the doorway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay here for 2 nights during our trip in NZ. Host was definitely very helpful and check in was quick and efficient. We love the studio we had - spacious, roomy, clean and very functional. Keep up the good work!

Location wise, very convenient as we could easily walk to the stores, cafes and shops on the main road. Also a great base to explore the surrounding areas of Fox and FJ. We made it our base for taking pre-wedding photo shoots. =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wennyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The unit was clean with just a slight musty smell (which I have noticed in many motels and could be due to the heavy condensation during the winter months in NZ). The room was clean, warm, comfortable and quiet; the sheets were lovely and crisp which is always nice and always good to have a decent shower good. The kitchenette was nicely equipped but I found the cups a little stained. The rooms aren't the most sound proof but luckily our neighbours on either side were good and no great noise problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I cannot find a bad word to say! We stayed for two nights and the lady who greeted us was wonderful and showed me everything on the map including the convenience store, good places to eat and also the beach and lake if we wanted good photos.
The rooms are perfect with a great heater, comfortable bed and all sorts of amenities including a microwave and toaster, plunger coffee and hot chocolate. These were all added extras for a small motel in a country town as far as I am concerned. The best thing about this place was the modern bathroom with the best shower we had in the whole south island!
Look no further, this place is awesome in terms of location (two minutes walk to town) quietness, comfort, showers(!) and customer service above all else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Extremely glad you enjoyed your stay. We installed gas water heating to those units (queen studios) in 2009 and we have are so pleased we did in terms of water pressure. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we would love to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

On our arrival a friendly lady greeted us at reception and provided us with a map of the town and some milk.

She then showed us to our room which was being aired out, ie all doors and windows were open. It smelled and was dusty. I have no idea how it has so many good reviews. We were the only one there in the whole motel.

We did not get much sleep through the night due to the smell and dust but more importantly the room was cold. Even with the heater and electric blanket I struggled to sleep.

Some suggestions to the hotel owner to improve on the cleanliness include take out carpet, bed coverings that cannot be washed (there were two), fabric bed base (again this cannot be removed and washed) and take out the fabric couch.

You will be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neckiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Goodness! We have been in business for 22 years and clean is our thing. So I really don't know how to respond to this except to say the bed you slept in had only arrived from the Sleepyhead factory 5 days before you slept on it. So not old, dusty or smelly. And if we removed the couch, the carpets (which are wet-vacc'd every few months), the mattress (as this cannot be washed), and all other fabrics, we may as well go into the business of prisons. However, I do appreciate the time it took you to write such an informative review and hope you went on to have a good holiday around the South Island.
Cheers
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Property: Lake Matheson Motel
Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing