We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Matheson Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveler rating
176
168
54
11
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
168
54
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mathesonundercover parkingcar portthe managersking studiolady on receptionwalking distance to townnew zealandbedroom unitplace to staythe main roadstayed one nightcooking facilitiessouth islandspa bathquiet locationshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 409 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were hardly in our room for very long - having arrived after a long drive and off early the next morning for our heli-hike but were well satisfied with this motel. It was clean, modern and convenient to walk into the village. We were given directions for the short drive to the lake and managed via a very fast walk to get to the perfect reflection photo.

The motel staff also recommended a short night walk to see glowworms which we appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you got to see the wonderful Lake Matheson in all its glory. I hope you went on to have safe and happy travels!
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It's the second time we stayed there. The bathroom had a box instead of only shower curtain. Not sure if they renovated all bathrooms because the room we stayed last December was another. Anyway, the service is good and the rates are still the same as Dec/2011, so it was a safe decision to pick this place without previous booking. Only one remark (again!): the bathroom lacks a small bin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Infernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback - and thanks for your return trade! Just to let you know, we now have small bathroom bins in all units. Hope you see you again someday.
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Motel room was of good size, clean and quite new or recently refurbished. Bed was 2 singles pushed together, not a real king, as advertised.
Water pressure was average. Nice and quiet.
Walking distance to town center. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Internet at a cost, but was told it was unrealiable and very slow.
Overall, very good, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Appreciate your feedback- thank you. I'd just like to let you know that the King Bed was not 2 singles pushed together. The bed is a king split, which is a zipped together bed so that it can be separated into singles for our tour groups if necessary. But interestingly enough, this is about the 4th comment along these lines in recent times, after no negative feedback about the beds since we bought them 5 years ago. HOWEVER, we DO listen here and last week, all king splits were replaced with brand new Sleepyhead Plush King beds (without the zip!). so if you ever pass this way again - come and try one out!
PS: Apologies about the internet - we have a zenbu system which is normally very good. Not sure what was going on that day that the staff member told you this - but will check it out.
Thanks for your comments
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great to have our own room and bathroom after staying in Backpackers the last few nights. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Reception was very helpful, pointed out great places to eat and see. Undercover space for our car to park direcly outside our room. Short drive to main street and Lake Matheson. Neat, tidy but not much character and a bit overpriced for what it has to offer. Oh and the sofa bed was incredibly uncomfortable!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirBleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thanks for taking time to review Lake Matheson Motels. I hope on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. When we underwent our refurbishment program we put new sofa beds into all the units - but choosing the right ones was the most complex decision we had to make within the whole process. In the end we opted for the black faux leather ones you slept on for many reasons - and believe it or not, comfort was our main reason - yikes. I'm going to sleep on one myself this week and see if maybe a mattress topper may help....hmmm. So thanks for pointing this out and I'm working on it!
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed one night here. We were unlucky with our weather as we had booked a helicopter flight up to the glaciers. Sadly all flights were grounded. This was desperately disappointing and we spent a lot of the day in our studio apartment. This was clean and quite spacious with parking for our car immediately outside. There was a good TV on which my husband watched some rugby! We ate lunch and dinner at the cafe near the lake which was very good and we managed to walk all around Lake Matheson in a short time of sun light. It is beautiful even on bad weather days but I'm sure it is spectacular on clear days.
We had a long drive up to Abel Tasman on the day we left so went into Fox and had an excellent early breakfast in the town.
This motel does a good job for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the terrible weather! We certainly get our fair share of rain - hence the carports attached to every room. While they can block out some of the mountain view, they also block out that liquid sunshine :)

I hope you went on to have a great time in NZ!
All the best
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews