We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven - highly recommended”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Irish in Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Heaven - highly recommended”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

What can I say... I was a little bit worried when we booked I caught Deborah at a very busy time & she was a little short with me. When we checked in I understood why - she is a one woman powerhouse running the entire place - check in, check out, cleaning, tour guide, chef extraordinaire...
As there was 4 of us we had a twin room in the main house & the deluxe cabin out the back. Both were amazing, perfectly clean, incredibly comfortable beds, fresh flowers but most of all both rooms were spacious. Breakfast was laid out in the private cabin or in the breakfast room in the main house & there was lots of choice including homemade raspberry & white chocolate muffins - yum!!! It was st Patrick's day went we arrived & the Irish flag was proudly hanging outside. Fox lodge is Definitely worth every cent. My only regret was we didn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    79
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
172
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Reasonably priced, mountain views from our upstairs windows, large bathroom with a loo view and a well provisioned breakfast room. Warm and cosy, we enjoyed our stay. Our host went 'above and beyond' to get a us a message from home at night which was bad news -even loaning us the Lodge phone for a short time as mobiles between family members were not connecting. Our heartfelt thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the stand alone lodges, which was beautiful. Spacious, clean, well furnished and with a huge bathroom with spa bath. Overall very happy with the accommodation, the service was a little bit 'cold' but I would stay again there if I'm ever in Fox again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in a mezzanine apartment. It was very comfortable and looked as good as new. There is a gas fired imitation log fire if needed which thankfully it wasn't while we were there.The lodge shares the site with a camp site (all motorhomes) so there is a workman-like feel about the place. There are no great views from the rooms - the campsite at the back and the laundry building at the front. However there was no noise at all from the campsite at night. We got a gushing welcome on arrival and they couldn;t do too much for us. They will also book glacier walks, restaurants etc for you.
One thing to bear in mind - Fox is a tiny town. It has all the basics - fuel, restaurants, a pub, and one supermarket but it's a good idea to stock up before you arrive as the supermarket is quite small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent two nights here with another couple in late December. It was overcast and often rainy the whole time we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy what must be spectacular views, but we enjoyed it anyhow. The rooms (we had 2 queen rooms) were as pictured on the lodge's site: pine interiors, clean and tidy linens, spacious rooms, good-sized bathrooms. The continental breakfast was better than most--fresh bread and muffins plus yogurt, fruit, cereals, and eggs that you could make if you wished.

We especially appreciated the manager's friendliness and helpfulness. We took advantage of the coin-operated on-site laundry to clean and dry some hiking clothes. The village of Fox Glacier is tiny, so you can easily walk to anyplace you need to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed there in December 2012 in a Mezzanine styled appartement and it was really awesome. The appartment has a spacious living, dining & kitchen area at the bottom, as well as a veyr nice bathroom with a huge spa bath, very enjoyable after 1 day of hiking on the glaciers ! And the bedroom area is upstairs. The appartement has everything we needed and was really comfortable and cosy. We only stayed for 2 days but would have enjoyed more time there.
The owners are very nice & helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in the two storey log cabins adjacent to the reception office. These were very comfortable, spacious and well equipped for self-catering. We especially liked the walk in shower and double spa bath. Lots of attention to details and extras. Also guest laundry facilities available. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Ample car parking and close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Property: Fox Glacier Lodge
Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing