We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here in a campervan for 2 nights in order to take the heli hike up to the Glacier. Have noted that most (all?) of the reviews about this place seem to apply to the Lodge and room accommodation whereas my comments only apply to the CAMPERVAN park part of this property.

The young lady in reception was lovely and very helpful and allowed us to park our van wherever we liked so we were able to choose a nice convenient spot. This was on the 1st May so don't know if it would be as easy in peak times.

Shower and toilet block was a bit limiting to say the least. From memory 2 or 3 unisex toilets and 2 large "disabled" shower rooms with a toilet in them. At evening and mornings there was a bit of a queue as more campers came in. However, managed to get a hot shower etc, but it wasn't what you call a "top facility". Also, there is one small laundry room with washing machine and drier which we used successfully using lots of coins.

The kitchen block was located way over the far side of the park and was only very small with 2 stove tops and sinks and limited table seating. There were 2 other families in there when we were trying to have breakfast and it was too much so went back to the van.

There is a nice little BBQ shelter and free gas BBQ which we used to grill dinner on and it worked well. Set over by itself near the edge of the park and trees. Quite pleasant.

We got a bit of a start just after dark when the Kea birds "attacked" the roof and got stuck into the rubber bits. However they only lasted a few minutes after chasing them off.

The best part of this park is its location. Situated only 50m or so from the main road which runs thru the little village of Fox Glacier and a very short stroll across the road to the booking office for Fox Glacier Guiding tours and helicopters. There is a well stocked little mini "supermart" or convenience store and coffee shop only 2 mins walk from the Lodge. Just down from the entrance to the Lodge and camper park on the corner is a cafe and Information centre.

On the morning of our helicopter trip we had to be in the office at 8.45am and we only had to walk across the road at 8.40. So convenient.

During the day the ablution blocks were very nicely cleaned and fresh when we returned.

Am rating this place 4 out of 5 for its location and friendly staff and at $34NZ per night great value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in what the booking sites call a "mezzanine apartment." All-wood interior, two levels, huge, bright bathroom with spa, cozy electric "wood" stove. It was immaculate--looked brand new. The small touches--cookies, fresh lavender on the large yellow bath towels--put this place over the top.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Recently stayed two nights in an ensuite room located in the B&B Lodge. We really appreciated all the little touches - bedside lamp on (was a dull afternoon when we arrived so this was a welcoming touch), fresh flowers, jar of lollies in our room, a bunch of dried lavendar arranged in the bathroom on our towels. In the breakfast room with the fire burning, a large bunch of sunflowers on the kitchen table and homebaked chocolate cookies under the glass dome stand all made for a warm welcome. We stayed with a group of friends and were fortunate to have the use of the breakfast room to ourselves. The continental breakfast provisions were plentiful and included freshly baked breads - on the day we departed there was also delicous muffins. We wished we could have stayed longer. The lodge is in a quiet location but well located to the main street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

stayed here for one night in March - had a ground floor wooden chalet style room with a verandah. Nice to sit out and listen to the noisy Keas! We found the walls rather thin and therefore a little noisy - the bathroom was a bit damp and the towels did not dry overnight. Breakfast was in a communal kitchen which was OK but not brilliant- location good for glacier but hidden behind buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanburyCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely wooden B&B Lodge with self catering chalets. Also campervan and and tent sites.
We arrived asking for a last moment booking having found our booked accommodation to be unsuitable. The host showed us what she had available (a chalet for the first, third and fourth nights and a B&B room for the second). Lovely rooms. Clean, spacious bedrooms/chalets, good kitchens (chalet only), lovely ensuite bathrooms (with spa baths in chalets) and woodburner-style gas fires (chalet only). Continental breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and home-made bread along with the usual cereals.
The things that really make this place are the touches that show you that the owners really love their business: the dried lavender on the bath towels and the Easter eggs in the wood basket and egg cups. Very friendly hosts and they couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The biggest disappointment of our trip to Fox Glacier Lodge was that we could only stay one night due to our tight schedule!

We arrived in Fox Glacier early in the evening to a very friendly and helpful welcome at the Fox Glacier Lodge. After some very helpful service to re-schedule our heli-hike for the next morning we were then shown to our cabin by the manager and her very excitable spanial.

Our cabin was amazing, with everything we needed and more. The highlights were the huge bath, wood burner (even though it was electric) and breakfast goodies left in our own kitchen area. We were even hand delivered home-made cakes in the morning as part of our breakfast

The cabin was very clean and decorated to a good standard, we also had our own private parking space right outside

We had to leave early the next morning but I wish we could have stayed another night to make use of the great location for hikes etc

Would really recommend The Fox Glacier Lodge for anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichM147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

the rooms at the lodge were very clean and nicely decorated. our bedroom was on the ground floor.

Breakfast was set out in the kitchen and guests helped themselves to the Continental Style goods provided.

Good Value for money and very helpful staff who booked our excursions for us to Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
11.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
277 reviews
0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $131 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing