We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge in Good Location”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge in Good Location”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a nice lodge close to fox glacier shops. The wooden lodge rooms have a real country feel. Rooms are comfortable and the continental breakfast ok too. Good stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    79
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
169
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Fox Glacier Lodge
This timber wood accommodation caught my eyes when I started to look for an accommodation in Fox Glacier area.
Fox Glacier Lodge consists of self contained units and camper van park rental.The self contained unit we booked came with a spa bath with continental breakfast and free wifi at a very low price
It is located right in the heart of Fox Glacier township, we can basically walk to the restaurants and convenient store from the motel in 3 minutes! 
The unit was huge and clean with a comfortable king size bed. There were two sofas in the room, complete kitchenette, dinning table and chairs, TV and DVD player and an electronic gas fireplace!
The bathroom was clean with enough amenities, a walk in shower and a spa bath!
I personally like the feel on this little wooden cabin with the fireplace. The spa bath and free wifi Internet just made me love them more! The best thing was, we did not have to pay a tons to enjoy all these! We would definitely be back to this motel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We only spent one night here but could not fault the welcome and friendly service of the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable, we liked the idea of a communal, self serve breakfast (the food was great too!).
We did the glow worm walk and were rewarded by hundreds of glow worms putting on a show, we were also told of the best place to see the fantastic sunset and were able to take amazing photographs. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIll7Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I had two very nice nights here in winter. The kitchen was a little small but this was not a problem because it was the quiet season. Bathrooms very nice and clean, although a little chilly as they open straight out to the outside. Very helpful friendly staff. It has a charm about it that the larger motor parks do not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Beautiful room, great arrangement for breakfast downstairs.
Visited the nearby forest to see the glow-worms (you can borrow a torch/flashlight from reception)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Very home like staying, the owner is nice and friendly and the breakkie is free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here with my parents for one night and we all loved it.
Very cosy in lovely wooden lodge, with a generous breakfast provided with home baked bread -Lovely and warm - and really inviting.
Had a great nights sleep in comfy bed, and we were lucky to have the whole place to ourselves.
Helpful reception booked us onto Glacier Explorer Trip which was also fantastic.
Would recommend this lodge - and especially for larger groups travelling together, it would be ideal.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRWILSON123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,939 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Property: Fox Glacier Lodge
Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing