We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, and with a central location”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, and with a central location”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed here two nights and the owners and staff were all very helpful and friendly - we felt very well looked after. The room itself was comfortable and had a spa bath but we found the wet-room style shower a little inconvenient. However, this was more than compensated by all the other features. In particular the continental breakfast was 'self-service' in a traditional kitchen with unlimited toast, daily fresh home-baked bread, and tea/coffee at all hours, as well as a stove in the corner which took care of the autumn chill in the early morning air..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    79
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
172
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was a great little motel with spaces for campervans outside. It was a great deal compared to the other one in the town and much closer to the town and facilities. THEy dont advertise so we found it on arrival and the staff were excellent, pointing out where to go and find things and suggested activities for us. THe bathrooms were great, functional and private. The Kitchen was on the small side but had everything that you would need. We also had a small view to the surrounding mountains. Cant comment on the motel itself but it looked lovely from the outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craiggoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is a rustic chalet style property in a spectacular location. It is fairly basic but comfortable and good value for money. Two things I'd like to change, firstly there is no storage for clothes etc and second, there is no power point in the bathroom. Easy to fix and would make a traveller's stay that much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

What a great little place we stumbled on. The Roma were nice and simple. Very comfortable. Easy walking distance to most things in town. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We drove from Queenstown to Fox Glacier in a day, which, for those who have ever done it is a very beautiful but LONG drive. We were so delighted when we got there but even more so when we arrived at our accommodation at Fox Glacier Lodge. What a hidden gem. It's a beautiful wooden lodge consisting of approx 8 bedrooms. The rooms are so cosy and warm and the couple who run it are extremely helpful and it's clear to see that they take great pride in the lodge. Each morning there is freshly baked bread, fresh coffee and a welcoming fire waiting in the self-serving kitchen. Also available is a selection of cereals, fruit and eggs to list but a few. Pictures and words don't do this place enough justice so my advice to anybody wishing to visit Fox Glacier is to stay here! For the perfect day out my tip is do the half day fox glacier trip from 1pm to 5pm. After the glacier trip pop into the Cook Saddle Cafe and Saloon for a delicious meal and a few beers, located on the main road, a stones throw from the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine0780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Fox Glacier is one really quiet town and the fox lodge perfectly fits into the entire picture. Perfectly nestled in the middle of the town and close to the glacier trek companies, this place is an amazing combination of a homely feel to a classy B&B. The freedom given to the visitors to cook it up in the kitchen was a welcome break after some of the painful hotels at NZ. Extremely friendly host and post the fox trot, one amazing hot shower. The cozy beds and lod cabin rooms are probably the highlights of this lodge :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiniPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in Unit #11 mezzanine apartment which was well-equipped with a sink, refrigerator, 2-burner stove and oven, fireplace, TV, and 2-person jacuzzi tub. The unit was decorated with pine paneling, and fresh flowers. When we checked in, Rebecca was very helpful and even brought us a sample of her freshly baked brownies. The Lodge was within easy walking distance of everything in town. At first, we thought noise from children playing in the attached camper van park would be disturbing, but as soon as it got dark, it became very quiet outside. The bedroom in the unit was upstairs in the loft, which could be a disadvantage for anyone who needs to take a trip downstairs to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLWTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Property: Fox Glacier Lodge
Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing