We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We booked ahead, and if had waited until we got to Fox I doubt we would have stayed here. Some nice touches such as underfloor heating in the bathroom but overall an average motel with nothing particular to recommend it. Paid for internet, but very poor reception. Woken up by dogs barking early in the morning. View from patio windows of road and public toilets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    170
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
55
216
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Westhaven is great value and well located centrally in Fox Glacier and close to Lake Mathieson. Good clean facilities and Kelvin did all that was required to make us comfortable. Although wireless is advertised it did not work in my room but did in the reception office. This was not a real issue as we were only spending one night there. I would certainly recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed one night, large room, clean, good shower, right next to center of town, very friendly owners and staff, of course there is the glacier, but lake Matheson worth seeing as is dinner at the Lake Matheson Cafe, internet is not worth the $10, spotty with bad reception, had to go into office just to get a wireless connection.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Az
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

It's a motel but a solid four star motel. No frills but clean with spacious rooms. Within walking distance of what there is intown. within short driving distance to the glacier and mirror lake. king size beds available.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

..they did a great job for us in sorting out a few things with flights etc and the rooms at this place are good too. We had a queen bedded studio which was airy(with seats onto a patio with grass) plus a decent spa tub. We would go again and recommend to our best friends.
But the wirless internet is crap so dont pay $10 for it

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The 2 bed studio room was very clean and comfortable, with sky channels and internet access. There was a designated car spot just in front of the room which made it easy to load and unload. The place was just next to the village area where there’s a general store for groceries and cafe’s. Overall it was a good option for our 1 night stay to see the fox glacier and Lake Matheson, since it was conveniently located between the two areas.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in mid-January, and were pretty happy with our choice.

The welcome was friendly and efficient, with an offer of real trim or fullcream milk ... a very nice touch.

Our room (#11) had two queen-size beds, the usual motel type amenities, plus a small kitchenette. I'd requested a room away from the road, and this was exactly what we got, although there was absolutely no view to speak of, except the neighbours fence. My only other small complaint is that the fridge was a little noisy !

The bathroom was clean and modern with a shower over the bath and under-tile heated floors.

Fox Glacier is a compact town, and the Westhaven is within two minutes walk of the cafes, restaurants and the Fox Guides building.

Yes, I would recommend, we saw some other motels on the mainroad; this one seemed the most modern, and the staff were certainly friendly and everything went smoothly with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,159 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,917 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing