We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We arrived there on the 20th May and was welcomed with a smiling receptionist so it was really good, especially after a bit of a drive from Greymouth.

We booked a room with twin queen size beds and they were very nice. Not a fancy bed, but it was lovely.

Small town, but the restaurants are very closeby. It only takes about 10 minutes drive to the famous lake matheson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chailatte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very friendly staff.Close to everything.Good pubs nearby.
Highly recommended.
Very clean and tidy.
Centrally located walking distance to the Glow worm caves and restaurant.
Owners are very friendly and helpful.
If we travel again to Fox Glacier we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night while in Fox Glacier and wish we would have stayed here when we came through and not at The Heartland. Owners were just wonderful and very friendly!! Our room was just fantastic, very spacious, nice comfortable beds, big bathroom and all the small details of a very expensive place. All the little touches added to such a nice experience. Big sliding door to go out back with two nice chairs, covered patio, beautiful lawn and plants along the fence line. Cooking facilities, refrigerator and just an all around very nice place!! Probably one of the nicest places we stayed while in NZ. Would definitely stay again and would recommend this to anyone!! Hosts recommended going and seeing the glow worms after dark, all for free and it was just beautiful walking in the rain forest and seeing them.

Room Tip: Looks like all the rooms would be just wonderful!!! You won't be disappointed staying here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

When we arrived here we were given lots of tips about what we could do locally. They were really friendly and helpful. The room was nice and big and the beds were comfortable. The location was good too, all the local amenities were on the doorstep of the motel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. We arrived just before 8 pm, but the manager, Sandy, was friendly and helpful. She told us about the area and the blue mushrooms, which we found the next day at Lake Matheson. We would definitely stay at the Westhaven again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiontamerCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Next door to all shops, well maintained with all required facilities and utensils, if you wanted to cook. Host was welcoming and told us all the places to visit. She also provided a torch telling us to go and see the glow worms. Will stay there, if I go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I loved this place. First, it looks like a new hotel / new room. Everything is in good shape, no dings on the furniture / marks on the paint. It really felt like we were some of the first people in to use the room.
The room is very large. There was a lot of extra space for just two people. There is a small kitchenette with everything you needed to cook (if you want to).
There is a laundry facility on site, which I used. It worked fine.
Parking is right in front of every room. So access is very easy.
The best part about this place was the couple managing the hotel. They did not own it but were managing it for the season. They had not decided if they would come back next season but I hope they do. The couple was very helpful with recommendations of were to eat and what to see. They suggested the Minihaha Track after 7:00 p.m. to see the glow worms. It was promised to be “magical.” And it was, glow worms glowing around you in a dense forest. I would never have known to do that if weren’t for the manager’s recommendation.
They also suggested looking for blue mushrooms alongside Lake Matheson. I thought they were having some fun and sending me on a snipe hunt, but blue mushrooms exist. They are hard to spot, but once you see them you will be amazed. I was told they only grow in April there so look for them then.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 8 are the largest rooms / best rooms according to the maid. We stayed in room 8 and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $93 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing