We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of nights at The Westhaven the location was excellent really close to everything. The room was a really good size and great comfort. It was a great start to our journey in New Zealand. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    168
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
53
209
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Easy to find after a day's hard drive.
Lots of help and information on how to make the most of a 2 day stay in the area. Excellent accomodation and a perfect situation.
Felt very welcome.
Nice eating and drinking places within short walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roland194909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not a lot to say! The room (R8) we were given did the job... nothing more nothing less. It was spacious, clean and the bed was quite comfortable. It was basic and could use a bit of a face lift. We could hear the guests in the room next door so watch what you're saying or doing! As far as value for money is concerned we'd stayed in much nicer placers while in NZ and for the same cost if not less but there's not a lot of choice in Fox Glacier and it seems you take what you're given otherwise move onto the next town.

The location is excellent but then most of the motel/hotels in the area are well positioned... it's because the place is so small!

Word of warning, because you are so isolated they can charge what they like here. Petrol price jumps dramatically so keep your car as full as possible before you arrive. If coming from Picton top up in Greymouth otherwise you'll need to fill up in Fox Glacier. From Greymouth and you should make it to Wanika without having to pay the higher prices.

Room Tip: We had room no. 8. Try and get in to rooms 1-8 or down from the office as they have a better aspects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not normally the reviewing type, but this is definitely worth mentioning - Great experience, Shelley and Kelvin, v friendly and helpful, made our travel experience a great deal better, would definitely recommend the hotel, great location, v clean and the hosts really great.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz04062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Westhaven motel. We found the hotel extremely clean and neat, and the free internet a major plus. In addition, we found the staff extremely accommodating, making excellent recommendations for dinner and allowing us some flexibility in use of the room. The only issue we had with our stay was with the water pressure, which was very weak when using warm water. The beds were very comfortable, the location is convenient, and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

There are quite a few options in the area but I think this is one of the better ones. Very comfortable, nicely equipped and furnished, the hotel was quiet, comfortable and relaxing. Nothing flash or fancy but all fits nicely and works well. Close to a few great cafes and restaurants and of course the stunningly spectacular Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. Stay a few days if you can as the area demands it - you'll find Westhaven a very good base to operate from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous room with helpful and friendly hosts. Well equipped and spacious with clean and modern kitchenette. Very busy motel with lots of small bus tours booking in so you have to book in advance. Located across the road from fox glacier guiding for walks bookings and the motel offers a very generous discount on bookings for helicopter scenic flights.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debstagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing