We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Central Location”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arriving in Fox Glacier, the i was not open so we did our own interrogation of what was available with the help of Lonely Planet and the AA’s Guide. We visited 3/4 abodes but found the Westhaven Motel to be the ‘pick’. The Manager could not have been more welcoming and the room was very comfortable (large with King bed, light and good free wifi). Dinner that night was in the ‘saloon’, only yards from the Motel, and it was one of the best we’ve found in NZ. Next morning we drove up to Mathewson Lake for breakfast – yummy wild fruit and pancakes. In sum, for any visitor to Fox Glacier, you will get value for money at the Westhaven. High Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms Large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello J&JFarnham, thank you for your kind words and review of our motel. We wish you a safe journey home to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    172
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
218
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Westhaven in the 2nd week of October 2013 and had 2 rooms , #21&22
#21 was good, clean, comfortable , 2big double beds , 1 with an electric blanket, lovely shower (not a lot of room to put down toiletries, but ok..) #22 was not good. No electric blanket on the bed, no lid on the toilet,
Just a ¾ curtain around the shower - the whole bathroom was wet. Just a sliver of soap and the room had a 'funny' smell. Lachlan was spot-on with his recommendations for restaurants. Plus : Free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Unless you are wheel-chair-bound , don't get room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us Frank, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you found our location convenient. I am disheartened you did not let us know of your dissatisfaction with room 22. We would loved to have fixed this for you and easily could have moved you. We put you in that room so that your group would be next to each other. There is not meant to be a lid on the toilet and it has a wet floor bathroom because, like you mentioned, it is a disability access bathroom. Some of our guests prefer this room, and we would have happily moved you had we known :) Once again with the soap, we gladly would have provided more had you asked. We wish you all the best with the rest of your adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately when we stayed it rained the entire time but the hotel was great. The rooms were clean and modern, the only down side was the shower, it barely had enough power to wash the soap off! The lady at the front desk was spot on with her recommendations for dinner and breakfast! Overall a great stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay Christian! It is tricky with the high rainfall we experience, but as we always say 'you can't have a rainforest without rain!'. We have attended to the issue you mentioned with your shower pressure -thank you for letting us know. We hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. I was with my kids 11 and 8 yo, I originally booked a room plus additional bed, as there were three of us. When we arrived, the couple that welcomed us were so friendly, and she upgraded us to a room with two queen beds! So stoked, breakfast was free(although upon booking online it said breakfast was an additional cost of $13 pp), so we had a couple of bonuses. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a pleasant time. Our room had a big backyard space, big bathroom, and I found the laundry room spacious and not crammy either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
So pleased to have your feedback Grace, it was lovely having you and your children stay with us. We particularly appreciated your understanding and patience that the road was closed down South. It has only just opened today would you believe!

Thanks again
Libby & Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent one night at this motel and were so impressed by our room - very clean and modern with a huge bathroom. The staff are great, too; very accommodating and friendly. WiFi and two breakfast vouchers at the Lake Matheson cafe were included in our very reasonable room rate. The Westhaven is just around the corner from a great restaurant - the Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon. Wished we could have stayed here more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review Kristy!
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in Fox so much and are keen to come back.
Looking forward to seeing you again,

Lachlan and Libby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We've been camping around NZ and decided at last minute to book a hotel while at Fox Glacier. The rooms were better than expected for the price and staff were extremely friendly and offered an upgrade as it was quiet. We couldn't be happier with the service and it is only a 1 minute walk from the town centre. I'd recommend to anyone spending a night or two in Fox.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Brodie,
Was lovely having you to stay, thanks for taking the time to review us and I hope your partner is feeling better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed two night at this motel, travelling the west coast of the south island. The manager was young & friendly, he provided us with breakfast voucher for the Lake Mathieson cafe', ( not a usual practice). He also gave great advise on what to see in the area. The rooms were very spacious, clean & warm which is what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the road & it wasn't noisy at all, slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanHillPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Manager at The Westhaven, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your great review! Being new managers this means a lot to us.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Cheers,

Lachlan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing