We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK to stay and free Wi-Fi”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK to stay and free Wi-Fi”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We were there at 11:30am and the host said the check in time is 2pm but they could store the luggages for us. It was raining so they even lended us two umbrellas.

The room and toilet were clean and tidy as we saw on their website. The kitchenette was OK too.

Also got free Wi-Fi with 160mb which saved some of my data.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WY_KWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    170
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
215
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland OR
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I tend to ignore reviews that mention rudeness, figuring the review often relects on guests as much as hosts. In this case, our Kiwi van driver apologized profusely for the rudeness of the greeting we received from the host upon our arrival. The driver later explained that her company had often recommended the hotel in the past but would reconsider the policy in view of the new management. We experienced some pleasant as well as additional unprofessionaly rude interactions during the remainder of our stay. The room itself was good. The kitchen counter area was small but servicable for toast, coffee, and cereal. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I have rarely experienced the attitude shown here in many dozens of other hotel stays, and would therefore not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westport76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Owner at The Westhaven, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi there, This dismays us all. I have spoken to our manager and she does recall you coming into The Westhaven. I think the problem may have been that you arrived around 11.30am on this day, expecting to get straight into your room, unfortunately we were fully booked the night before so our housekeeping was in full swing. Our check in is 2pm and Kerry did advise that she would do her upmost to get you into your room as soon as possible, given it was a pretty miserable day with heavy rain. I think she did manage to get you by 1pm. As always were is always going to be two sides to every story and I think its fair to say in this instance that is strongly the case. Our manager and her husband are excellent hosts and to say she was unpleasant and had attitude is certainly not the general feedback we have had from others. regards Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the moment I arrived Kerry and Wez made me feel welcome. This has to be, by far the best place to stay if visiting the beautiful Fox Glacier. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. Kerry and Wez have a good knowledge of the area and this helped me enjoy my trip even more. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good quality and well placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjan5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Quite a central spot to stay on the west coast surrounded by good views favourable access to Franz Josef, Fox Glacier & the glacier township. We lived in the studio room which was supposed to be a executive king suite. Couple of disappointments - there were no satellite channels showing on the TV & please endeavour to let the manager know in advance just in case the room refrigerator makes its defrosting noise in the night which they can fix on escalation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOURAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Comfortable
Convenient
Spacious+
Clean++
Friendly and helpful staff++
We enjoyed our stay here. It was the only motel we booked on our road trip around the south island, and was better than most of the hotel and resort rooms we got. The room was very clean and spacious, with couch, flat screen tv, desk, fridge, kitchen sink, microwave and toaster, and coffee and tea facilities - everything you could need. Very convenient parking right outside room door. No air con or fan, but wasn't needed, just open a window. The people running the motel provided great service, and were happy to help and give tips and advice on the area. Restaurants, shops etc only a few steps away.Only minor thing I can mention (because I'm a princess) is that they only gave fresh bath towels, and wet used bath mat and hand towels were just refolded.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KayJay646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You have to remember, Fox Glacier is a tiny town and serves as a base for the various adventures nearby. So anyone expecting five star silver service accommodation is a bit deluded. The Westhaven was perfectly fine during our Xmas stay. The rooms are large, the service friendly, the location as central as it can get. It's not flash and it's not luxurious. A particular minus during summer travels would be that there is no fan/ventilation. It's probably not a big deal most of the time, although it just so happened to be rather warm during the days we were there, so it was a little stuffy. In all, highly recommended if staying in FC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank read_my_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked the most expensive option at this motel, the "Super King Deluxe". It was a basic motel unit, quite comfortable, but nothing special. There were a few issues - the fridge continually switched itself on every few minutes through the night, the fan in the bathroom (which came on with the light)was incredibly noisy and an apparently new bathplug did not fit the plughole (fortunately the kitchen sink one did). We will try somewhere else next time round.

Room Tip: The expensive rooms are not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Owner at The Westhaven, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We take your concerns on board, unfortunately you did not report any of these directly to our reception so it makes it a little difficult to ensure things were right during you stay if you don't tell us. The plug could easily have been sorted out, as the fridge would have been as well, I suspect the fridge was simply turned up to high and just need the controller adjusted back. The bathroom extraction fans are on a timer with the bathroom lights and turn off automatically when the lights are switched off. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope that in the future if you stay in another complex and have problems then please let reception or the people running it know as you will find most will retify any problems there and then, regards Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
9.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing