We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation in Fox Glacier”
Review of The Westhaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westhaven
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best accommodation in Fox Glacier”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here on our way up the West Coast. The room is extremely well appointed with a king size bed, kitchenette with microwave and all the utensils you'd need - a non slip may for the cutting board an extra thoughtful step. They're very environmentally conscious and I really appreciated that, e.g. each unit has its own water tank. Close to everything in town and easy short drive to the glacier. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandamonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxWest, Owner at The Westhaven, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review. We really try to be enviroment conscious and have a really good recycling system in place and you may have seen the green cylider cone in our garden, this is an 'earth angel' which digests food waste!!, Its amazing it 'consuming all food scraps and even things like chicken and fish bones. We are Qualmark rated as a silver enviro propoerty which means we show and committ to a high level of enviromental and social responsibility. thanks again regards Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    171
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
217
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

You are not going to find a 5 star hotel in fox glacier. This hotel is well run, clean and great location. Very good hosts. I had a large room adequately furnished but not a great room. If I had this room in Auckland I would be very upset but not here in fox.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and first impression was that the room exceeded our expectations for a motel in a small town. The room was very spacious, had a handy kitchenette and a large bathroom with heaps of counter space! There was a new Sony Bravia tv mounted on the wall although difficult to watch tv from bed but there was a comfy sofa provided. Wall mounted heater was appreciated after getting soaked viewing the glaciers. Parking right out front of our room was handy. Simon greeted us at reception and was very helpful in suggesting tours and places to eat. We ate twice at Lake Matheson Cafe! Location was easy to find as Fox Glacier is quite a small town, close to the glacier and the lake. Franz Josef was about 25 minutes drive through very winding roads. Free wifi was very appreciated although sometimes slow and dropped out a few times. Cost was a little on the expensive side but there isn't much to choose from in this area of New Zealand.

Cons - bathroom had no place to hang towels other than 2 hooks behind the door which made them difficult to dry quickly and hang other stuff. There was a lack of water pressure in the shower when using the hot water which made it a bit frustrating to take a quick hot shower. This may have something to do with each room having their own hot water tank? Walls were thin and could hear the neighbour's conversation. There was loud music our first night until 1:30am which we initially thought was from the motel but was actually from the neighbouring house/Saloon pub out the back!

Overall, very happy with the place and service. Sleep quality rating was rated low given the thin walls and loud music (that wasn't the motel's fault).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

might be at the top end of our budget but it was certainly worth it. A real home away from home. One bed apartment with very modern, comfortable and gave such a good feeling of satisfaction having booked such a great place.

Go for it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were booked here as part of a tour and were very happy with the stay. The location is great, right in town.

The room was very nice, a good size and clean and comfortable.

The continental breakfast that was delivered the night before was basic but good. Wireless Internet was free but quite slow and dropped out a few times.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_geek_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice hotel ,perfect for what we wanted which was medium level cost and room but at a great location. The hotel was a 30 second walk from Fox's shops and restaurants. Our glacier tour left from directly over the road and it was a 5 minute drive from Lake Matheson which had the best view of the mountain and glacier. The rooms were clean and large and we had a sliding door out to the grassed area at the back of the hotel. The hotel also hires out DVD players and has a collection of DVD's that are then free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I spent just one night in Fox Glacier so can't compare it to the other places (hence average value rating) but the room was clean and the heating had been put on which was appreciated as we arrived after 9pm when reception was closed. To be honest I was expecting the spa bath to be bigger (I'm 193cm) but I guess I've not had much experience with them (I'm Irish) so I didn't realise they came in regular bath sizes - I was thinking of a hot tub kinda setup. Eitherway the place was as described and the hosts were fine - I met Simon (not 100% sure of his name) the following morning who pointed us in the direction of the heli-hike company. Location wise Fox is tiny so everything was close by and they let us leave our car in their car park while we went walking about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Cook View Motel
Mount Cook View Motel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westhaven

Property: The Westhaven
Address: Statehighway 6, Fox Glacier | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westhaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westhaven in Fox Glacier is located right in the heart of the Fox Glacier township. We are a modern stylish complex with 23 large studio units. Each room is self contained with private en suite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. All rooms have a kitchenette which includes a fridge, microwave and kitchen appliances. Our beds are really comfortable, queen, king and super king beds are all available and all rooms have good heating, beds have electric blankets. We offer FREE internet access and have a guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier
Westhaven Fox Glacier
Westhaven Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing