We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good substitute if you cannot get a helihike”

Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$222.52*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good substitute if you cannot get a helihike”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our Helicopter trip on to Franz Josef glacier was cancelled due to fog in the valley (not unusual this year!) so we quickly reorganised for a walking trip on to the Fox Glacier. Sarah, our guide, was very knowledgeable and did her best to keep us all entertained and informed as we walked up the valley (1hr) and spent 1+ hr on the glacier before a 1/2 hr walk back. You do get to walk on a glacier but it is at the bottom, 'dirty' end. You also go at the pace of the slowest person who may be walking with an iPad in front of them for 3 hours so not so fast. But beggars can't be choosers and we appreciated this as an alternative to the Helicopter Hike.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    107
    33
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fox glacier landscape is beautiful, We drove from the holiday park campsite which took 10 minutes and park the camper van at the designated space provided, upon arriving was already awed by the scenery. The viewing viewing point needed a 20 minutes hike and little bit climb. The long trail needs approx 8 hrs (return) as said by our receptionist earlier. We did not do it as not staying too long. the district got many other sightings and landscape to wonder about.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank waleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great walk with lovely guide ”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Air here is very fresh and the walk was great with lovely guide Mr DunCan. Must try their Heli hike if you have budget for it. ^^~

Helpful?
Thank JiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BRISK MORNING WALK”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was such an enjoyable adventure after taking the bus from town to the parking area to start the walk over the next 3 hrs round trip to the Glacier. The hike had many changes along the way from the bush trail at the beginning to open up into mostly dry but very wide river bed leading to the Glacier. The view of the steep cliffs towering above the valley that was carved out so many thousands of years before. The several waterfalls coming from far above feeding the river below and how fresh the air was wonderfully crisp and clear and to see the ice melting from part of the Glacier in the Spring sunshine, but as quickly there is sunshine then the weather changes quickly and begins to close in with low cloud, so the guide had a little treat for use to climb up part of the cliff wall to an area that get an excellent view from high up point to get a closer look at the Glacier face and the river winding its way down the valley to the sea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to walk on a glacier”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was one of our best trips. Walking on the glacier with a guide. We had to wear crampons on our boots and use walking poles. The guides take an ice pick and chip out steps for you to walk up. Its quite scary at first but you soon get used to it. It felt scary at times as you never know when there could be rock falls but the guides are very good and tell you when not to stop for pics and to keep close together. Done in small groups. Think it cost about £60 booked it in the UK before we left, well worth the money. would recommend it to anyone. YOu can loan everything free of charge, rucksacks, boots, coats, trousers, poles, crampons

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Glacier Hiking Trails also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing