We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Walk on the Ice!”

Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$236.21*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight departing Fox Glacier
More Info
$182.87*
and up
Fox Glacier Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight
More Info
$236.21*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning Walk on the Ice!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did the half day Fox Trot walk with a guide, I have been at other glaciers but never was able to actually walk on the Glacier. I huffed and puffed but it was worth every sore muscle. We were given an orientation and equipment...and away we went. It was one of the highlights of our NZ trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    107
    33
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with the Fox Glacier”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I do not do helicopters and we are not particularly fit so we were advised to take the valley walk to Fox as it is now considered too dangerous to walk up to Franz Josef. It is quite a steep walk and you do need good shoes. The views are spectacular and you eventually get within 200 mtrs of the front of the glacier. The weather closed in whilst we walked up but we eventually rose above the clouds into the sun. It took us nearly 2 hours for the round trip from the riverside car park but we did stop quite a lot. There were several waterfalls to look at on both sides of the valley. There are helpful info boards on the trail to add to your enjoyment. We are so pleased we did this but it was probably at the limit of our abilities.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Views of the glacier are stunning and much more impressive than those at Franz Joseph. If you are only able to see one of the 2 glaciers, then the Fox Glacier is the one to choose. The valley walk to the Fox Glacier viewing point is quite steep and it is best if you wear comfortable, closed in shoes (trainers are fine). From the viewing point, you can clearly see the glacier losing ice and the crevices in the surface. We were also able to see a number of the guided walking parties on the glacier. We walked to both Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers in one day. It is easy to do this and have tine for a lunch stop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After leaving Greymouth, we drove down to Franz Josef Glacier. Unfortunately the weather was against us and the clouds were rolling in. At Franz Josef, we stopped and read the info boards but as we didn't get there till quite late, the weather was getting ugly and the walks were about an hour and a half, we decided to press on to Fox Glacier.

The Fox Glacier walk is only 30mins there and back ie 1hr return. It is an easy, enjoyable walk.

You cannot walk on the glacier unless you do an expensive guided tour as too many people were hurting themselves and not looking after the environment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shazza_123_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

A very well informed guided half day tour on the Glacier. These natural wonders are slowly retreating so a definite must do adventure. Spent quite a bit of time on the ice and captured some amazing photos! The walk to the glacier is quite tiresome though and not recommended for anyone who easily goes out of breath or has health problems. Our guide was friendly and had answers for all questions asked. We even got to try out some natural glacier water!

Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Glacier Hiking Trails also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing