We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the West Coast”
Review of The Last Kitchen

The Last Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the West Coast”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reasonable meal here. Sat outside and watched the sun go down.
The dishes were flavoursome and certainly large.
Service was a bit casual, atmosphere a bit dead (but then so was the whole town that night).
Friends said the banana deserts were superb (but I did't try these).
Coffee was good though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    227
    51
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Price worthy”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Most price worthy in town if you still want good food. The food tasted great and it was agood atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hjorter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most delicious lamb!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

During our stay in fox glacier we got recommended by the reception girls from the Top10 Caravan park Top10 Card.
The restaurant is really cozy and the food is simply delicious. We tried lamb a few times in New Zealand but this was the best one we had on our whole trip! The potato gratin was creamy and full of flavour. They also have very good beer! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the last kitchen and must say that it is so delicious! For a start we had the arrancini, then Pasta and the Lamb! The food is really nice cooked and had a wonderful flavour. The staff is very friendly too!

Helpful?
Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant In Glacier Country”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find such good food in a place as "remote" as Fox Glacier. The steaks, venison and the lamb are to die for, as was the chicken burger. Service was equally good. The girl who attended to us - sorry, I can't remember her name - who works as a teacher during the day and part time at the Last Kitchen in the evening - was especially courteous and attentive. The best part of the dinner was the pricing - it ain't cheap - nothing in Fox Glacier is cheap - but the prices were very acceptable compared to Bostwana Butchery in Queenstown when the quality of the food and service is as good as Bostwana Butchery.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Last Kitchen also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Last Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing