We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Fox”
Review of The Last Kitchen

The Last Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gem in Fox”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not a lot of dinning choices in Fox Glacier, so to find a kitchen that puts such effort and attention, as well as creativity, into its offerings is a very pleasant surprise. Additionally, the staff is first rate and friendly. I had a bit of a stomach bug and needed to watch ingredients as well as preparation the first night so the staff noted my limitations and worked with the chef to adapt a suitable meal for me (pasta with salmon and capers). The chef clearly has a talent for expressing his/her(?) own perspective on food: the bruschetta was served "deconstructed," chicken soup and tarragon was actually puréed and served with a hunk of rustic black bread, and onions rings were petite, fragile and delicious.

The room is cozy with small tables and one communal table that works quite well. A fire place adds to the environment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seddonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    228
    51
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winmalee
Level Contributor
210 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recommended by our hotel (Bella Vista) and were glad we took there advice. We had only one poor quality meal in our two week holiday touring this South Island so food generally was very high quality. Last Kitchen was one of the best meals we enjoyed. Food was excellent and not surprisingly the restaurant was busy so obviously has earnt a good reputation. Was the only restaurant was dined at in Fox Glacier as we one night staying on route back to Queenstown so can;t compare to other establishments in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was great -- food in NZ seemed pricey to me. Food was displayed very nicely, atmosphere at place was cozy and welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnieK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great place for a meal with friends! great service, lovely wait staff and the food was delicious!
so was the wine!..Even though they were busy the staff all took time to stop and chat and to check all was well...Will recommend this place and go again ourselves... no need to book

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxedSouthIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in NZ”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Chicken breast in pesto on mushroom, Parmesan and lemon risotto.... Best meal I've had in New Zealand.....bit pricey but we don't mind paying for a great meal! Lovely staff and atmosphere. A meal worth waiting for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Last Kitchen also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Last Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing