We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$83
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$76
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
$96
$93
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$91
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$94
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
$94
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$93
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$152
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
165
97
37
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
97
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungetop floornew zealandcd playervenisonthe general managerbefore dinnerone nightin townlovely bathroomsmall townbreakfast was excellentgood sizecomplimentary glass of winehome comfortsmodern roomsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 315 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This small hotel in Fox Glacier does not look much from the outside, but the rooms and bathrooms are extremely well equipped. They have every modern convenience, including a small music system, as well as very comfortable beds. The only thing that would have made our stay a little more comfortable would have been air conditioning. It was extremely hot the day we arrived there and with the room facing the sun, it took a little while to cool down. The hotel also has an excellent lounge on the first floor with comfortable sofas and chairs for guests to use. The breakfast was very good and all in all an extremely good hotel in the most magnificent surrounding scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

we stayed one night. Hotel is convenient and room was large and has lovely bathroom. A wine reception was in the evening, great opportunity to chat with other hotel guests. There is laundry facility for guest use. The internet was free up to 50mb/day. Breakfast was included, continental and hot buffet as well. There was coffee and tea service in out room as well. Restaurant on site was very nice and provided good food for the value. Large umbrella's were available for guest use. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Well planed and excellent size room, bathroom very high standard. Laundry room on 2nd floor. B'fast excellent quality and selection. Lovely lounge with PC for internet conection small fee. Wifi in room 50mb free then pay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Arriving after a long journey, I was delighted with the quality and comfort of this hotel. The rooms are stunning; each room named after a New Zealand pioneer. I stayed in the Thomas Brunner room; an early surveyor who made an epic but difficult journey between 1846-48. Our group were offered complimentary wine in a very well furnished lounge before we chose to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. The menu was good and the five of us chose venison and were not disappointed with the quality. It was interesting to note that there were plenty of games and books in the lounge if guests had to wait if the weather wasn't good enough for walks or flights over the glaciers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed for two nights over the New Year and were really happy. This was the highest price we paid in our three weeks in New Zealand but as we stayed two nights we got a 10 minute helicopter trip over the glacier which was great. We loved the drinks in the evening in the lovely lounge, found the free laundry and internet access very helpful. Great room comfortable bed and the most luxurious sheets, shower and bath in the bathroom . I was a bit confused over the restaurant because I didn't see it mentioned on the website. We had a very good dinner there but felt very sorry for the single waitress who was struggling with an impossible task of looking after everyone - she did really well but someone else should have helped her.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews