We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wished we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The room was spacious and comfortable with some nice extra touches such as a CD player. The bathroom was great; brilliant shower. The view was fantastic and there was a balcony that you could sit out on. Breakfast was tasty with a good choice of cooked food. It was like the owners had thought about everything they hated about hotels and fixed it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    93
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
188
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We overnighted here during a visit to Fox Glacier. The place is modern, clean and well-located and the people were very friendly. Above average breakfast and lovely common rooms. I cannot understand the negative reviews, the other choices at Fox are not as nice as Te Weheka - there is no 5 Star hotel in this location, you there to visit the glacier, not for 24 hour room service. I have traveled widely and this was a very reliable choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We wanted to stay close to the fox glacier.. paying USD400 made us expect a decent hotel perfect for a honeymoon couple. This is no less than a motel. But there is not much option around unless you go a few miles further to Franz Joseph main city. Very ordinary breakfast.. small dingy rooms. It was clean I must admit.. but a very small property. Go there only if you get a veryyyy good deal for a night.

  • Liked — the owner at the reception was v helpful
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spas_for_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weheka, Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Just a correction on the rate you state - The rate was NZ$ 400 - About US$230
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I chose Te Weheka despite its cost of 360NZD per night (over 200USD), because the only other available accommodations in Fox Glacier and Franz Joseph Townships were motels. Judging by the looks of them, now that I have seen them, the motels didn’t look bad, but I couldn’t have known this while I was still researching. I played it safe with Te Weheka and I am not sorry one bit despite the cost. The inn is situated in the Fox Glacier Township, about 160 km from Haast and about 20km from Franz Joseph Township right on route 6. Its location is perfect for exploring both glaciers.

What I loved about Te Weheka is the personable hotel manager (and owner?) who also dubbed as a receptionist and concierge. She was very very nice without being intrusive and made sure we had an enjoyable experience every minute of our stay.

The hotel itself is also lovely, the rooms were fairly new (opened in 2002), good size and well decorated, and bathroom was fairly large. The TV set is on the small size, but surprisingly its sound is like from a home theater system! Five TV channels only though, in case you care. The room has everything a normal hotel room does, including bathrobes, a mini fridge, coffee making facilities, utensils, etc. There is no in-room internet, but there is a computer in the guest lounge, which can be used at 2NZD per 20min. The computer is super slow, but for specific task browsing – it does the job.

The hotel rate includes breakfast – decent continental with fresh squeezed juices plus made to order eggs any style with tomatoes/mushrooms/bacon etc. The breakfast timeframe is somewhat narrow (8 to 9:30am), but it may be different during the summer, when there are more guests (I think there weren’t more than 1-2 other rooms occupied while we were there). Unfortunately, the dining room isn’t open for dinner after March.

Our rate included as a promotion a 10 min scenic flight of Fox Glacier with ‘Mountain Helicopters’. We found out about this when we were checking in and it was a nice surprise. We did the flight next morning and it was a very enjoyable experience. We also did the 3hr helihike tour of Franz Joseph the same day with ‘The Franz Joseph Glacier Guides”. We started 40 min late as the guides were running behind schedule (we still spent 2 hrs on the Glacier). We weren’t sorry we picked them over ‘The Helicopter Line’, as we were only a 5 people tour and we could move a lot faster and saw much more than the Helicopter Line group which seemed to be over 10 people.

Another place to visit around Te Weheka is the beautiful lake Matheson (about 6km/10 min drive). Either visit early in the morning, or around early afternoon as the sun position gives the best opportunities for those picture perfect photographs of the lake reflections.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

This lodge is superb!!! The rooms were large and well appointed. The beds comfortable. The bathroom exquisite. It was very tastefully decorated, the colors relaxing. There were free laundry facilities, huge umbrellas for the unexpected rain, internet, a lounge with games, computer, books, and a fireplace. Their restaurant was delicious. One of the best meals we had on the entire trip!! And breakfast was included in the room rate. We found the staff to be helpful and nice. I made reservations far in advance and requested our 2 rooms (we were traveling with our 21 year old daughter) to be located in a quiet location and with a view. We were on the top floor and away from anything noisy. We saw the lovely scenery from our window. It was conveniently located around the corner from the town, so our walk for our glacier experience was less than a minute. (Although the heli-hike with Alpine Guides/Fox Glacier Guiding was a disaster-they are an appalling company providing the most untrustworthy, unsafe, awful guiding experience in all of our worldwide travels.) This is more of a boutique small hotel rather than a bed and breakfast.

The rooms were more expensive than most of our other stays in New Zealand, but we were very pleased with the accomodations, food, treatment, convenience, and amenities. We would definitely stay here again. Marvelous!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We are just back from three weeks in Australia and NZ, staying mostly in 4 or 5 star hotels. This was the one we liked the most. The rooms are spacious and designed so thoughtfully. Apparently the owners turned the final design details over to their wives who solved all the usual annoying problems with motel rooms. I think they could patent their design. The food was good and the staff are friendly. A winner. We will return someday.

  • Liked — Room design and views
  • Disliked — Dinner was somewhat rushed
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

You know those places you stay at and remember as the low lights of your trip well this is one of them.Totally over priced. Looks like a Formulae One. The smallest single bed ever. Right on highway corner which was a complete surprise as it was misrepresented in the advertisements for the place.I have travelled around the world and this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. For the price I was expecting luxury. We stayed at another place at Fox that was less than half the cost of this hotel and was lovely.Not worth it. Price NZ 400 a total rip off. The restaurant was barren and I can understand why.Rude staff ...totally unforgiveable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelconsiderations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
10.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
9.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
11.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Property: Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing