We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience!”

Alpine Adventure Centre Tours
Ranked #9 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was one of the top things we did during our extended road trip round NZ. The staff were really helpful, the pilot was great, smooth flight up, landed on the snow, jumped out and ran around then back down. It's expensive but totally worth every penny. This is a must when in the South Island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally worth the effort”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We took the 40 minute flight including landing at the top. It was the best experience of our holiday and has resulted in many spectacular photos. It's a bit expensive but should definitely be one of the things you splash the cash on as it will add to a memorable holiday

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Worth every dollar! Fox and Franz Josef Heliservices”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you do one thing while day in glacier country go on a helicopter trip and landing, it's just magical. We chose perhaps the best day the coast has seen for sometime, so decided quite late in the day to go. Fox and Franz Josef Heliservices based in Franz Josef and Fox Glacier was our chosen tour operator. The trip we wanted to do only left from Fox, which wasn't a problem, just a 15 minute drive away. We did the Fox and Mount Cook, Tasman Glacier with a snow landing. The booking office boys were very helpful, and our driver to the take off point in Fox,( who is training to be a heli pilot) was really friendly and chatty. Toby our pilot on the day was amazing too, we can't thank all the staff enough for a fantastic experience. The snow landing was incredible, then we headed back down Fox Glacier for another view. This company is, I think the only one that has a discount of 50% for children, unsure what the cut of age is, but our son was 12 years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chopper flight to the top”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

we took the 30min flight to see both Glaciers and land in the shadow of mount cook in a small helicopter, Suzanne was apprehensive but the pilot was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. worth the splurge!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank logar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best attraction in West Coast you should not miss.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Because of work, I have been in West Coast a lot of time (More than 100 times). Fly to see the glacier is a must do activity in Franz and Fox. In Franz Josef and Fox Glacier got few different helicopter companies. They all provide helicopter tour to show you the beautiful New Zealand glaciers and include snow landing on the top of the glacier. They all similar but the price. I found that this one is the cheaper one. They cheap of the price but good of their service.
The weather change fast in west coast, make sure you got a back up booking for the early next morning if the weather not allow you fly on the day you want. The reason is no one can tell the weather more 3 hours after, I have been experience very bad weather at night and beautiful weather in the morning. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank urchinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Adventure Centre Tours also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alpine Adventure Centre Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing