We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16,000 feet amazement”

Skydive Fox Glacier
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With a backdrop of the Southern Alps, Glaciers, Rainforest and the Ocean, it's hard to imagine a better place to jump out of a plane than Fox Glacier" Quote from The Lonely Planet.We have to agree! You can choose from 13,000ft or 16,500ft with a range of photo and video options to choose from and a great friendly crew, we guarantee you a jump to remember.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“16,000 feet amazement”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked for a 2.30 'drop' but had to wait until 4 to actually go because we were in a line which was annoying, but the experience itself was amazing as you had a spectacular view of Mount Cook in the airplane and the staff were really calming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie15789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I'm flying!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ian Clark is a great instructor! He's the 2011 hang gliding champion. Very calm and definitely knows what he is doing.

Views are amazing! Must do! Am so addicted that I want to learn how to hang glide!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtravels70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“16000ft - WOW”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We felt so safe with Paul & Ollie doing a tandem jump. Never done anything like this before. So professional but super friendly. No pressure to buy any extras such DVD. Totally amazing experience, stunning views - we could see Mitre Peak, Mount Aspiring, Mount Cook, Mount Tasman, all the way up the west coast and way over the east coast. FANTABULOUS - thanks Ollie & Paul

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a fantastic experience jumping with the guys at Fox. I am a qualified solo diver, but found it extremely hard finding somewhere to jump in new zealand.

The guys at Fox however did give me this opportunity and I am forever grateful. Our plane got up to 16k and the jump was accompanied by the magnificient surroundings.

The guys at the ground and in the air were both extremely professional and great fun to jump with. I couldn't have had a better jump. Thanks guys!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of the most exhilarating activities I have ever done! Did the 12,000 ft! The skydive team was accommodating, friendly and efficient. Francois was my tandem master and with over 7600 dives, I was very comfortable that I was strapped to him! Would be nicer if it wasn't too cloudy. I would highly recommend skydiving in Fox Glacier for the view and the value you get. Thank you for teh experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexacsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Fox Glacier also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Skydive Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing