We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”

Mountain Helicopters
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to have a flight booked for us as a surprise present, and it was one of the highlights of our NZ trip. We had an almost perfect day with deep blue skies and no clouds and little wind. The views were simply spectacular, we felt so priviledged to be able to witness the scenery from the air and then to land on the glazier and get out and walk around was awesome. The flight was simply thrilling and we enjoyed every minute of it, the whole operation was very professional. Would highly recommend as a must when in NZ.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackyp955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    6
    1
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mountain Helicopters the right choice for us”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Although staying in Franz Josef we decided to travel to Fox Glacier and fly with Mountain Helicopters. This proved to be an excellent decision as most flights in Franz Josef were cancelled because of the weather. The helicopter only takes 4 passengers and they were happy to take only 2 of us if no others booked. Although we had to wait a couple of hours until it was good to fly we took the time to walk to the Fox Glacier and see some other sights. Two sat in the front and two in the back so all had excellent views as the pilot circled each highlight so all could get a good view. After landing on the snow and having our photo taken several times and looking around we changed places so it was handled fairly and well. The other reviews are correct in that it is a lot of money but well worth the experience. From our short experience of 2 nights at Franz Josef we found that the weather was clearer at Fox on both days. It was also cheaper than other similar trips but because of the good reviews we decided to give it a go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but totally worth it!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife booked the flight the night before our scheduled flight. There's no point in booking early as the weather can change rapidly. The day before our flight it was pouring rain. The day of our flight was calm with crystal clear sky. Don't be cheap if this is your first ever helicopter ride. It was totally worth the money. The booking was simple. On our arrival at the check in, we were instructed on the safety procedures. We waited about 20 minutes before we were driven to the helipad 5 minutes away. We flew on the green helicopter. The flight was smooth and we felt safe the entire time. The pilot was informative and accommodating. The front seats had better views but the back seats were more spacious. We were fortunate to do a snow landing as the weather was clear and beautiful. We saw fox and franz Josef glaciers, mt Tasman, mt cook and many other landmarks. After a while, all the mountains and glaciers looked the same, stunningly beautiful. Overall, we had a fantastic time even though this was the most expensive part of our trip touring New Zealand.

Helpful?
Thank Vinh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

WOW. We booked this when we arrived in Fox Glacier. We were undecided if we would do the helicopter ride due to the weather.( Misty & Showery.) My husband went into see these guys and talk to them. They were honest but also showed us a picture from a Camera they have mounted above the Glaziers. The weather above was magnificent. We decided to go ahead. What an experience. You must do at least one of the Glaziers, a landing and mount Cook as well. The scenery was mind blowing, (I'm not a fan of heights etc) but these guys new what they were doing and at no time did a feel unsafe. Standing in the snow opposite Mt Cook with the scenery and snow was WOW. Money well worth spending, would do it again no problems. Thanks to these guys for making a great memory of NZ

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 215happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow. Short but sweet”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

It is an expensive tour, but was just amazing. The views of the mountains and the glaciers are spectacular. These guys are pros and with the weather being so unpredictable they did a goodmjobmof keeping us updated. First rate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Helicopters also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Mountain Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing