We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip!”

Mountain Helicopters
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We struck a day which wasn't the best as a front was moving in ,so we weren't too sure if we could fly.
We chose the$200 option and we weren't disappointed! Our flight ended up being twice as long as advertised and we had some great views.
The pilot was a wealth of knowledge and most accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Nichola60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    6
    1
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were interested in doing a helicopter tour with a snow landing on short notice and the staff were very helpful in trying to fit us in. Nathan the pilot was there and was very helpful and squeezed us in early the following morning. Staff were also accomodating to fit us in when we were a bit late due to our alarm not going off. Nathan was very friendly and a good guide on our helicopter ride. The scenery was awesome and the snow landing brilliant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

When we arrived at the booking desk, the staff were not overly helpful, one was actually sending text messages on his mobile phone. We were asked to provide credit card details to secure our booking and were told to come back in one hour for our flight. When we arrived back at the designated time we were instructed to wait and eventually waited for another hour and a half. After two groups of people arrived and left in the courtesy vehicle, we inquired (this time with a new staff member) how much longer we would have to wait and she informed us our 'booking time' was actually 50 minutes later than we had been told at booking. Another staff member (possibly a manager/owner) came out and informed us that the helicopter flights were not like an airline and therefore due to weather conditions flights will be delayed or cancelled - and she was not sure the weather conditions would allow us to fly. Eventually we made it to the helicopter (after staff checked the weather). The flight was spectacular and we saw the most amazing sights. Whilst on the trip, the pilot informed us that the weather conditions had been perfect for flying all day and that we were so lucky to get such great weather!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary5Dubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We took the Fox Glacier and Mount Cook flight which also flies over the Franz Josef glacier. Stunning views and the snow landing was fun too! Worth the splurge!!

Helpful?
Thank niceguyjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A trip just for you”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I was rather hesitant about this activity, given its cost and the heavy clouds rolling in at the time. All doubts were dispelled when I made inquiries at the office. "We can take you now", was the helpful advice. We were advised that it wouldn't be the "standard" 40-minute flight, but the pilot promised a snow landing and lots of glaciers. "Now" meant right now ... within the next 2 minutes, in order to beat the weather front. We weren't disappointed! We had fabulous close-up views of glaciers, snow formations, mountains, and, as, promised, a landing on ice. The helicopter seemed to be all window - unobstructed views in all directions, and helpful commentary from the pilot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Helicopters also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Mountain Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing